September 21, 2014: SUMMER SALE-A-BRATION

 

You'll find twelve more ads today, all from July 1995, plus seven more Random Pages gallery additions from pages of The Blade, starting with two Peach Section stories by Chris Borrelli, a Monday, 7/10/95 story, "Ch. 24 Grabs 'Baywatch' and its Spinoff," and a Wednesday, 7/12/95 story, "News Director Quits Ch. 13," about Alan Audet. Next is a Friday, 7/14/95 News Section 2 story by Debra Baker, "Toledoan Stalked Radio DJ, Police Say." about 89X DJ Kelly Brown's alleged stalker. There's also a Sunday, 7/16/95 TV Week cover for Sci-Fi Channel's week of "Godzilla" films ("He's Back") and two Tuesday, 7/25/95 stories, a Business Section story by Gary T. Pakulski, "Public TV Documentary Retells Electric Auto-Lite Strike Story" and a Peach Section story by Chris Borrelli, "Detroit TV Stations Look to Suburban Papers to Fill Void Created by Strike." And there's a Sunday, 7/30/95 TV Week cover for Michael Moore's TV Nation. There are seven additions to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, starting with two Thursday, 7/13/95 Sports Section ads, the first ad for The U.S. Women's Open on ESPN, the second ad for The 13th Annual Ohio/Michigan 10K Race on the Community Channel (Dan Cummins, Dave Payette). Next is a Sunday, 7/16/95 full-page TV Week ad for The Movie Channel-Showtime Summer Sale-a-bration, followed by a Wednesday, 7/19/95 ad for "Dead Poet's Society" on USA. There's also a Saturday, 7/22/95 half-page ad for SelectChannels (Flix, Sci-Fi, and WGN), with that day's schedule of programs. And there's a Wednesday, 7/26/95 ad for HBO's The Larry Sanders Show (Garry Shandling), followed by a Friday, 7/28/95 ad for Lifetime's Intimate Portrait, "Jackie Onassis." There are four additions to the ToledoVision 5 gallery starting with a Tuesday, 7/11/95 ad for "Get Smart Again" on The Big Show (Barbara Feldon, Don Adams). Next is a Friday, 7/14/95 ad for two baseball games, The Detroit Tiger Alumni vs Toledo, followed by a Mud Hens game against Scranton. There are two more for movies, a Thursday, 7/20/95 ad for "Funny Girl" on The Big Show (Omar Sharif, Barbra Streisand) and a Friday, 7/28/95 ad for "Hardware" on Eerie Street Theater. Today's last ad is an addition to the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Thursday, 7/13/95 ad for The Village Players production of the summer musical, "You're a Good Man Charlie Brown." August 1995 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...