August 19, 2014: Janeway or No Way

 

You'll find ten more ads today, all from January 1995, plus two more Random Pages gallery additions from the pages of the Thursday, 1/9/95 Blade. There's a Sports Section story by Dave Hackenberg, "UT, WSPD to End 30-Year Affilation" and a Peach Section story, "Ch. 36 Adding Newest 'Trek'." There's one addition to the Channel 24 gallery, a Saturday, 1/14/95 ad for The Editors, "The Medical College at 30." There's also one addition to the Channel 36 gallery, a Saturday, 1/21/95 ad for the Channel 36 premiere of the UPN series, Star Trek: Voyager, "Caretaker," shown on a six-day delay. Starting the next evening they would show the series on a two-hour delay at 10:00 PM Mondays. There are eight additions to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery starting with a Sunday, 1/1/95 full-page TV Week ad (Have you tried SelectChannels? Here are 112 reasons to call today), similar to the 12/11/94 ad that I added on Sunday. Next is a Tuesday, 1/3/95 full-page ad (Let The CableSystem take you away...) followed by a Wednesday, 1/4/95 ad for the Lifetime Original Movie, "Spenser: A Savage Place" (Robert Urich). There's also a Friday, 1/6/95 ad for Billy Joel from the River of Dreams, on the Disney Channel, a Monday, 1/9/95 ad for "The Carpetbaggers" on TNT, and a Wednesday, 1/11/95 ad for "Cocktail" on USA. There's a Monday, 1/16/95 ad for "The Thorn Birds" on TBS, followed by a Thursday, 1/19/95 ad for "First Blood" (Sylvester Stallone) on USA's Rambo Festival. More January 1995 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...