February 16, 2014: Turn On To 5

 

You'll find fourteen more ads today, all from February 1992, plus two more Random Pages gallery additions, both from the Friday, 2/14/92 Peach Section of The Blade. The first one is a Roberta de Boer story, "Olympic Battle for TV Viewers," about the differences between CBS coverage of the 1992 Winter Olympics and that on the CBC. Some things never change, considering that this year CBC is providing about 21 hours of coverage daily, much of it live and NBC is, well, um...NBC. Next is a Tom Ensign story, "TV13 Puts Politics on Parade," about the Sunday morning show, Toledo Up Front. There's one addition to the Channel 36 gallery, a Thursday, 2/27/92 ad for two episodes of The Simpsons, "Separate Vacations" and a rerun of "Homer Defined," the Beverly Hills 90210 episode, "Cardio Funk," and The Dennis Miller Show. There are two additions to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, both Saturday, 2/1/92 HBO ads, a Sports Section ad for Night of the Heavyweights, and a Peach Section ad for a free weekend of HBO. There are eight additions to the ToledoVision 5 gallery, starting with a Thursday, 2/6/92 ad for a TV5 / K-100 / Toledo Storm "Paradise on Ice" contest. Next is a Friday, 2/14/92 ad for the movie, "Wait Until Dark" on Eerie Street Theatre, followed by a Sunday, 2/16/92 TV Week half-page ad (Tune In Toledo - Turn on to 5). There's a Thursday, 2/20/92 ad for The Andy Griffith Show (Before Matlock there was the Andy Griffith Show). There's also a Saturday, 2/22/92 ad for The Twilight Zone, a Sunday, 2/3/92 ad for GWF Wrestling, a Thursday, 2/27/92 ad for Ohio Today with Governor George Voinovich and Sherryl Sheets, and a Friday, 2/28/92 ad for Alvin and the Chipmunks. There's one addition to the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Friday, 2/21/92 ad for the 14th annual Cabin Fever Sale. And there are two additions to the Other Vintage ads gallery, both for Food Town, a Sunday, 2/2/92 ad for their new handle bar calculators, a new feature of their shopping carts, and a Wednesday, 2/12/92 full-page ad for Expo '92, featuring appearances by three ABC soap opera stars, Kelly Ripa and Jean LeClerc of All My Children and Mark Brettschneider of One Life to Live, plus Brenda Epperson of The Young and the Restless, on CBS. March 1992 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...