August 11, 2013: Tune In Tonight!

 

I added 29 more ads today, all from April 1987, plus eight more Random Pages gallery additions from the pages of The Blade. The first five are all by Tom Ensign and were found in the Peach Section. There are two Friday, 4/3/87 items, about channel 30's annual auction and channel 36's Limelight. Next is a Saturday, 4/4/87 review of Married...With Children, “Fox Network's TV Family Atypical And Very Funny,” followed by a Friday, 4/19/87 story, “WOHO, WWWM-FM Inaugurate Joint Broadcasting” and also contains several TV related items. There's also a Friday, 4/17/87 story, “Cancellation of 'Hill Street' Tugs At The Heartstrings” plus some other TV and radio items, followed by a Friday 4/24/87 story, “Arthritis Telethon Slated On Channel 36” and also includes items on new faces on Toledo television and Toledo radio award winners. There's a Wednesday, 4/29/87 story in the Business Section, “Storer Agrees To Sell WTVG,” and two more from the Peach Section, including another one by Tom Ensign, a Thursday, 4/30/87 story, “WTOL Wins Writing Honor At Broadcasters Meeting” and also includes other “Around Toledo Television” items. The last one is another 4/30/87 (AP) story, “WJR, WWJ Get Exclusive Rights To U Of M Sports.” There are no ads today for the four commercial stations, but there are nine additions to the PBS gallery, all for channel 30. The first eight are for The New Channel 30 Auction, a Friday, 4/3/87 ad (Owens-Illinois), a Saturday, 4/4/87 ad (Dana), a Monday, 4/6/87 ad (Sun Company), a Tuesday, 4/7/87 ad (L-O-F), a Wednesday, 4/8/87 ad (Toledo Trust), a Thursday, 4/9/87 ad (La Choy), a Friday, 4/10/87 ad (Trinova) and a Saturday, 4/11/87 ad (The CableSystem). There are four more ads for Shoah, all in one image, a Monday, 4/27/87 ad, a Tuesday, 4/28/87 ad, a Wednesday, 4/29/87 ad, and a Thursday, 4/30/87 ad. There are three additions to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery for “free previews,” including three ads for the Disney Channel, a Wednesday, 4/8/87 ad for Kids Incorporated, and two Saturday, 4/11/87 ads, one for Anne of Green Gables and one for A Prairie Home Companion (Garrison Keillor). There's also a Saturday, 4/26/87 ad for the Detroit Tigers on PASS. There's one addition to the Vintage Cable Ads gallery, a Wednesday, 4/8/87 ad for the Stanley Cup Playoffs on ESPN, There are two additions to the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Friday, 4/3/87 ad for a “Free Money” contest on WKKO-FM and WTOD-AM, and a Monday, 4/13/87 ad for another contest on WSPD-AM. Today's last two additions are to the Other Vintage ads gallery, both of them full-page ads. The first one is a Monday, 4/6/87 Food Town ad for the Toledo Mud Hens home opener against Pawtucket. The second one is a Sunday, 4/12/87 ad for Churchill's, celebrating their 70th year. May 1987 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...