July 7, 2013: Exclusive Report!

 

I added eleven more ads today, all from May 1986, plus three more Random Pages gallery additions from The Blade. The first one is a Monday, 5/5/86 story by David Shutt, on the front page of the second news section, “8 Applications Filed To Operate New TV Station.” That station would eventually be WLMB-TV 40. It didn't begin broadcasting until October 1998 (over twelve years later). The other two are “Around Toledo Television” Peach Section columns by Tom Ensign, a Tuesday, 5/13/86 story, “Owners of WDHO Slate Changes To Physical Plant” and a Thursday, 5/20/86 story, “'What Happens Now' Still Being Asked At Channel 13.” Other local television items are also included in both. There are seven additions to the News/Special Reports Ads gallery, including a Wednesday, 5/21/86 ad for a Toledo 11 News Nightwatch story by Healthwatch reporter Amy Marsalis. There are four 13 News ads, including a Tuesday, 5/6/86 ad for their primary election coverage with Jerry Anderson and Jeannine Lauber, The other three are “Exclusive Report!” ads, a Wednesday, 5/14/86 ad for a Jerry Anderson story on drug testing, a Monday, 5/19/86 ad for a Jeannine Lauber report, “Safety in the Skies” and NBC Nightly News with Tom Brokaw, and a Monday, 5/27/86 ad for a series of “Memorial Week” reports. There are two more 24 News Tonight ads too, a Monday, 5/5/86 ad for a series of Donna Rogers reports on “Superparents” and a Monday, 5/19/86 ad for a Mike Bowersock series of “One Day Vacation” reports. There are also two additions to the Channel 24 gallery, a Thursday, 5/8/86 ad for the game show, Perfect Match (Bob Goen) and PM Magazine (Tom Selleck) and a Wednesday, 5/28/86 ad (A New Star in the Sky!). Starting June 1, 1986 WDHO-TV would become WNWO-TV. There are two similar TV Guide ads, a 5/28/86 TVG ad, and a Sunday, 6/1/86 TVG ad. There's one addition to the Channel 36 gallery, a Monday, 5/19/86 ad for the movie, “On Golden Pond” (Henry Fonda) and The Best of Saturday Night Live, Benny Hill, Gunsmoke and The Twilight Zone. Today's last ad is an addition to the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Friday, 5/2/86 ad for an appearance by the Butch Thompson Trio at the Franciscan Life Center at Lourde's College, presented by FM 91 (WGTE-FM 91.3 / WGLE-FM 90.7). June 1986 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...