July 2, 2013: Tonight on Festival '86

 

I added seventeen more ads today, all from March, 1986, plus five more Random Pages gallery additions from The Blade, including three from the Peach Section. There's a Saturday, 3/15/86 story by Seymour Rothman, “Detroit Baseball Is Back, But It Will Cost You Extra.” There are two by Tom Ensign, a Friday 3/21/86 story, “No Matter Who's Adding, 'Cosby Show' Rates No. 1,” and a Thursday, 3/27/86 story, “Tiny Bedford Station Plans Telethon To Amass Funding.” Both include other additional items as well. There's also a Sunday, 3/30/86 Entertainment Section story, “STN, A Television Network For High Schoolers Only,” in two parts. The first part includes a photo by Herral Long and the second part has the conclusion of the story. There are no ads today for the commercial stations, but there are eight Festival '86 ads for channel 30, in the PBS gallery. The first one is a Saturday, 3/1/86 ad for the movie, “Sergeant York,” followed by a Monday, 3/3/86 ad for Wonderworks, “Anne of Green Gables,” and a Tuesday, 3/4/86 ad for the special, Peter Paul and Mary: 25th Anniversary. There's also a Friday, 3/7/86 ad for the movie, “Gunga Din” (Cary Grant, Douglas Fairbanks), a Tuesday, 3/11/86 ad for the special, The Beatles Forever, and a Thursday, 3/13/86 ad for the movie, “National Velvet.” And there's a Saturday, 3/15/86 ad for five movies, “Clarence, the Crosseyed Lion,” “Bringing Up Baby,” “Tarnished Angel,” “The Magnificent Ambersons,” and “Till the End of Time,” and a Sunday, 3/16/86 ad for “Easter Parade” (Fred Astaire, Judy Garland). There are five additions to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, including a Tuesday, 3/4/86 ad for a Rocket Country special MAC Basketball round-up, “Road to Rockford” with host, Jerry Keil. Channel 11's Dan Cummins, WSPD's Jude LaCava and The Blade's John Bergener and Dave Hackenberg were also on the show. Next is a Friday, 3/7/86 ad for a cable installation special offer, followed by two ads for PASS, a Thursday, 3/13/86 ad (The PASS-word is free preview) and a Tuesday, 3/18/86 ad (PASS is my Season Ticket to Great Sports Action). There's also a Sunday, 3/16/86 TV Tab ad for The Movie Channel. There are two additions to the CableSystem Channel 5 gallery, both for pre-season Detroit Tigers games on PASS, a Wednesday, 3/26/86 ad for a game with Philadelphia, and a Friday, 3/23/86 ad for a game against Toronto. The last two ads today are additions to the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Saturday, 3/1/86 ad for St. Vincent Medical Center (In case we meet by accident), and a Tuesday, 3/4/86 full-page ad for the Walt Disney Fun-to-Learn Library at Food Town. April 1986 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...