May 5, 2013: Some Of Our Best Programs Aren't On Our Station

 

I added 24 more ads today from March and April 1984, plus three more Random Pages gallery additions from The Blade. First is a Sunday, 3/4/84 story by Tom Gearhart, on the front page of the Entertainment section, “Festival 84 To Be A Major Public Television Offering.” Included are pictures of Woodie Guthrie, Willie Nelson, and Cyd Charisse and Tony Martin. The other two are both from the Peach Section, a Thursday, 3/8/84 story, “CableSystem Schedules Mid-Am Tournament,” and a Wednesday, 3/21/84 story by Tom Gearhart, “Channel 30 Surpasses Goal in 2-Week Funding Drive,” and also includes other items about Toledo radio stations and the story, “Scott-Dayton Dunbar Game Set on Ch. 30.” There are two additions to the Channel 13 gallery including a Friday, 3/9/84 ad for the 13 Strong Mobile Healthwatch Program at Franklin Park Mall (“Some of our best programs aren't on our station”). And there's a Saturday, 3/31/84 ad for a syndicated special, Stars with David Steinberg, with Burt Reynolds, Dudley Moore, Mr. T, and Mel Brooks. There are ten additions to the PBS gallery, all for shows on channel 30, many with the tag line “Where TV worth watching is TV worth paying for.” First is a Saturday, 3/3/84 ad for three movies, “Love is a Many Splendored Thing,” “Magnificent Obsession” and “For Whom the Bell Tolls” and the special, Ingrid (Bergman). Next is a Sunday, 3/4/84 ad for The Nightly Business Report, followed by a Monday, 3/5/84 ad for The Glenn Miller Story and The '50s: Moments to Remember. There's also a Tuesday, 3/6/84 ad for The Julie Andrews Special: Julie and Sammy and a Wednesday, 3/7/84 ad for National Geographic Special, “Return to Everest” and the movie, “The Other Side of the Mountain.” There's also a Thursday, 3/8/84 ad and a Wednesday, 3/21/84 ad, both asking for donations. You'll find a Friday, 3/9/84 ad for The Nightly Business Report, Washington Week in Review and Wall Street Week (“Friday Night Facts”). Next is a Saturday, 3/10/84 ad for “Non-Stop Country,” featuring the movies, “Wasn't That a Time” and “The War Wagon” and the specials, Woody Guthrie: Hard Travelin', Best of Live From the Grand Ole Opry and Country Memories with Willie Nelson. And finally, there's a Tuesday, 3/20/84 ad for Academy on Computers (Register Today). There are three additions to the CableSystem Channel 5 gallery, a Thursday, 3/8/84 ad for the 1984 MAC Tournament, a Monday, 3/19/84 ad for On-Site: Toledo, and four 4/3 - 4/6/84 ads, in one image, for World Cup Wrestling.

There are also three additions to the Vintage Cable Ads gallery, all for The ESPN Sports Marathon, a Monday, 3/26/84 ad, a Friday, 3/30/84 ad (USFL/NBA games) and a Monday, 4/2/84 ad. More April 1984 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...