April 4, 2013: MTV Night Out

 

I added ten more ads today, all from January 1983, plus three more Random Pages gallery additions from Peach Sections of The Blade. The first one is a Friday, 1/14/82 story, “Cablenews Lists Road Conditions,” followed by a Wednesday, 1/19/83 item, “Bill Neiderman Joins Martz-Shaw Agency.” The other one is a Wednesday, 1/26/83 story by Tom Gearhart, “Susan Hayes Takes On New Duties For Channel 24 News” and also includes other items, about Mike Reghi joining WDHO-TV, the cancellation of Mornings With Paul W., and former WTOL-TV anchorman Bob Lawrence joining KCST-TV in San Diego. There are no ads today for channels 11 and 13, but there are three additions to the Channel 24 News gallery, two welcoming Susan Hayes to 24 News Tonight at 11 PM, a Saturday, 1/22/83 ad and a Monday, 1/24/82 ad. There's also a Sunday, 1/23/82 ad (Good news). There are four additions to the PBS gallery for shows on channel 30, including a Tuesday, 1/11/83 ad for A Woman Called Golda (Ingrid Bergman's last role, as Golda Meir). Next is a Saturday, 1/15/83 ad for a Marilyn Monroe Film Festival, featuring the movies, “Monkey Business,” “The Seven Year Itch,” and “ Gentleman Prefer Blondes.” There's also a Tuesday, 1/18/83 ad for the premiere of Frontline, “An Unautorized History of the NFL,” with Jessica Savitch. You can find what William Taafe of Sports Illustrated thought of the special here. And there's a Tuesday, 1/18/83 ad for American Playhouse, “The Skin of Our Teeth” (Sada Thompson, Blair Brown). There are two additions to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, a Sunday, 1/16/83 full-page TV Tab ad for a free-preview of the Movie Channel, and a Friday, 1/28/83 ad for MTV Night Out at Renee's, presented by The CableSystem. Today's last ad is an addition to the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Wednesday, 1/26/83 ad for Manos Greek Restaurant. February 1982 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...