February 5, 2013: Dog-Gone-It!

 

I added seventeen more ads today from May and June 1981 plus four more Random Pages gallery additions, from Peach Sections of The Blade. The first three are by Norman Dresser, including a Friday, 5/29/81 story, “Daytime Programming Set For Summertime On Ch. 30” and also includes other items, about WGTE-FM, Nickelodeon and the CBS Morning news program. Next is a Friday, 6/12/81 story, “CableSystem To Carry UT Educational Channel” and also includes other items, about Eleven at Large, WTVG and WGTE. The other one is a Monday, 6/22/81 story, “Five Groups Files To Operate Ch. 36 UHF Outlet In Toledo.” It would be more than four more years before WUPW-TV went on the air. There's also a Saturday, 6/27/81 story by Seymour Rothman, “Vexation Without Representation Unfair,” about the 1981 Major League Baseball strike. There are three additions to the Channel 11 gallery, two of them for movies, a Friday, 6/12/81 ad for “The Other” on Saturday night's In the Balcony at the Bijou and a Monday, 6/22/81 ad for “Adventure Week” on The Big Show. The movies featured were “Night Passage,” “Trader Horn,” “Under Ten Flags,” “The Mountain” and “The Buccaneer.” There's also a Monday, 6/29/81 ad for In Good Health, “Alcoholism” hosted by Joe Ashton. There are two more in the Channel 11 News gallery, a Wednesday, 6/3/81 ad with Charles Merlin Umpenhour and a Friday, 6/26/81 ad with Bob Lawrence, Jack Mitchell and Dan Cummins. There are three more ads for channel 11 among the four additions to the News/Special Reports Ads gallery, a Monday, 5/25/81 ad for a Rebecca Hanshaw report, “Prom Night,” a Saturday, 5/30/81 ad for Hotline, and a Saturday, 6/13/81 ad for Eleven at Large, “The Quiet Circle” with reporters Bob Lawrence and Debbie Pettibone. There's also one for WDHO-TV in that gallery, a Tuesday, 5/26/81 ad for a Mack Berry series of reports (Dog-Gone-It!). There's one addition to the Channel 13 gallery, a Saturday, 5/23/81 ad for “True Grit” on The 13 Sunday Night Movie (John Wayne). There's also one addition to the Channel 13 News gallery, a Tuesday, 6/30/81 ad with Randy Price and NBC's John Chancellor. There are two additions to the PBS gallery, both for channel 30, a Friday, 6/6/81 ad for “Bataan,” part of their Movie Weekend, and a Sunday, 6/7/81 ad for the movie, “The Valley of Decision” (Greer Garson), part one of The Scarlett Letter, and the movie, The Pirate.” There's one addition to the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Friday, 6/19/81 ad for the UNCF Radiothon on WKLR-FM 99.9 (A mind is a terrible thing to waste). Today's last three additions are to the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Friday, 5/22/81 ad for Ohio vacations, a Wednesday, 6/10/81 ad for the Toledo Mud Hens (The Chicken Returns), and a Monday, 6/22/81 ad for free installation of HBO from Ultra Vision. More Summer 1981 ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...