November 17, 2013: The Place to Be

 

You'll find sixteen more ads today, all from July 1990, plus four more Random Pages gallery additions, from Peach Sections of The Blade, the first two by Tom Ensign. There's a Thursday, 7/5/90 story, “Former Ch. 24 News Director Takes Baltimore Job” and it also includes other local TV items. Next is a Friday, 7/6/90 story, “Poor Ratings Cause WTVG's Decision to Cancel Its Early Evening News Show in August.” There's a Monday, 7/16/90 story by Alan Abrams, “Story Changes, but the Injury Remains Painful,” about channel 11 cameraman, Pat Sprunk. The last one is a Friday, 7/20/90 story by Tom Ensign, “Marsalis Leaving WTOL.” There's one addition to the Channel 13 gallery, a Thursday, 7/5/90 ad for their highlight programs for the Jamie Farr Toledo Classic golf tournament (Michael Reghi, Bill Wagy). There are four additions to the Channel 24 gallery, all for The Arsenio Hall Show, now at 11:00 PM. There's a Monday, 7/16/90 ad (Our 11 O'Clock Anchor), a Tuesday, 7/17/90 ad (Tonight's Top Story), a Wednesday, 7/18/90 ad (The Best News Yet), and a Thursday, 7/19/90 ad (The Real News at 11). There are two additions to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, a Saturday, 7/7/90 ad for World Championship Wrestling on Impulse pay-per-view, and a Saturday, 7/14/90 ad for a free preview of the Movie Channel. There's one addition to the ToledoVision 5 gallery, a Monday, 7/23/90 ad for The Goodwill Games which was also carried on TBS. This ad was for the men's 100-meter race featuring Carl Lewis and Linford Christie. There's one addition to the Vintage Cable Ads gallery, a Sunday, 7/8/90 ad for a Cleveland Indians vs Oakland A's baseball game on ESPN. There's also one addition to the TBS gallery, a Sunday, 7/29/90 ad for the Sunday morning movie, “Thunderbolt and Lightfoot” (Clint Eastwood, Jeff Bridges). There's one addition to the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Saturday, 7/7/90 ad for Sacred Concert Hall on WOTL-FM 90.3. The other five ads are all additions to the Other Vintage ads gallery. The first one is a Tuesday, 7/3/90 ad for the Freedom '90 fireworks in downtown Toledo, sponsored in part by Centel Cellular, Amoco/Lyden Co., Churchill's,The Blade, Root Outdoor Advertising, WUPW-TV, WIOT-FM, and WCWA-AM. There are two Sunday, 7/15/90 ads for Holiday Inn, with a Warner Bros. theme, the first ad (What's up at Holiday Inn?) with Bugs Bunny and pals, the second ad for Holiday Inn Canada (Here's $10. Now go away.), with Yosemite Sam and Bugs. There are two Sunday, 7/29/90 full-page ads for Kroger, the first ad for Kings Island discount coupons, celebrating Fred Flintstone's 30th birthday, the second ad for the 1990 Rib-Off at Promenade Park. August 1990 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...