January 2, 2013: In the Balcony at the Bijou

 

I added twenty more ads today, all from October, 1980 plus three more Random Pages gallery additions, from Peach Sections of The Blade. The first is a Wednesday, 10/15/80 story by Harry Harris (Knight Newspaper Service), “New TV Season Gets Underway Oct. 27.” Next are two by Norman Dresser. The first, a Thursday, 10/23/80 story, “NBC Spreads Its Prime-Time Season” which also has other items including some about radio stations WOHO-AM, WGTE-FM, WSPD-AM and Scott High School station, WAMP-FM. The second one has two Friday, 10/31/80 stories, “Radio Industry Makes Lots of Waves As Listeners, Revenues Show Increase” and “About People, Events In Broadcasting World.” There are four additions to the Channel 11 gallery, three for their Saturday night movie series, In the Balcony at the Bijou. There's a 10/4/80 ad for “The Seven-Ups,” (Roy Scheider), a 10/11/80 ad for “Dirty Dingus Magee” (Frank Sinatra) and a 10/18/80 ad for “Fuzz” (Burt Reynolds). There's also one more for PM Magazine, a Tuesday, 10/21/80 ad for a segment about “TV From Outer Space.” There's also one addition to the Channel 11 News gallery, a Tuesday, 10/28/80 ad for meteorologist Charles Merlin Umpenhour. There are five additions to the News/Special Reports Ads gallery, including two more for channel 11, a Monday, 10/6/80 ad for “Rat,” a Trudy Gallant series of reports, and a Saturday, 10/25/80 ad for special live coverage of President Jimmy Carter's “Town Meeting” in Toledo. There are three more for 13 Nightly News, a Saturday, 10/4/80 ad for “Made in Japan,” a Virgil Dominic series of reports, a two for a Jim Rudes series of reports on winterizing your home, a Saturday, 10/25/80 ad and a Wednesday, 10/29/80 ad. There's one addition to the PBS gallery, a Friday, 10/3/80 ad for “Opening Night” of the 1980-81 Toledo Symphony Orchestra (Yuval Zaliouk, conducting), simulcast on channel 30 and FM 91.3. There's also one addition to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, a Wednesday, 10/22/80 ad for a free preview of Showtime. There are eight additions to the Radio Station Ads gallery, seven for WGTE-FM 91.3. There's a Tuesday, 10/7/80 ad for All Things Considered, a Saturday, 10/11/80 ad for Jazz Alive, a Tuesday, 10/14/80 ad for classical music, and a Wednesday, 10/15/80 ad, again for All Things Considered. Next is a Thursday, 10/16/80 ad for NPR broadcasts of the San Francisco Opera, followed by a Friday, 10/17/80 ad for their programming via satellite, including a concert by the Minnesota Orchestra, and a Saturday, 10/18/80 ad, again for classical music. The other one is a Friday, 10/17/80 ad for WIOT-FM 104.7's “Free Living” contest. November, 1980 ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...