July 3, 2012: A Clean Sweep

 

I'm back with 18 more ads from May, 1976, plus four Random Pages gallery additions. There's a Tuesday, 5/4/76 story by Norman Dresser, “'All In The Family' For 5th Year Tops Cumulative Nielsen Ratings” and also includes a piece on Buckeye's Channel 100. Next is a Friday, 5/7/76 story, “Joe Gillis Resigns From Ch. 11” and a Wednesday, 5/12/76 story, “Barbara John Named To Ch. 13 Promotion; Elaine Hughes Leaves.” There are two more Friday, 5/21/76 stories by Norman Dresser, “Ch. 50 To Show 'Saturday Night'” and “CableSystem Begins Saturday Movies.” There are three ads in the Channel 11 gallery, two for movies on The Big Show. The first is a Monday, 5/3/76 ad for John Wayne Week, with the films, “The Undefeated,” “Donovan's Reef” (Lee Marvin), “She Wore a Yellow Ribbon” and “The Longest Day,” shown in two parts. Next is a Monday, 5/10/76 ad for “The Harder They Fall” (Humphrey Bogart), “Gidget Grows Up” (Karen Valentine), “The Sand Pebbles,” in two parts, (Steve McQueen) and “A Guide for the Married Man” (Robert Morse, Walter Mathau). There's also a Friday, 5/28/76 ad for a Sylvania Savings Bank sponsored special, A Spring Fantasy, with the Sylvania High School Choir. There are four more in the Channel 11 News gallery, a Wednesday, 5/5/76 ad, and three “live mini-cam reports” ads, a Thursday 5/13/76 ad, a Friday, 5/14/76 ad and a Friday, 5/21/76 ad. There are two more in the News/Special Reports Ads gallery, a Sunday, 5/9/76 ad for Hotline (Uri Geller) and a Saturday, 5/29/76 ad for a 1976 Ohio Primary preview on Eleven at Large. There's one Channel 30 ad in the PBS gallery, a Tuesday, 5/18/76 ad for Opera Theater “The Mikado.” There are three ads in the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, a Tuesday, 5/4/76 ad, a Thursday, 5/13/76 ad (Edward Rutkowski) and a Thursday, 5/20/76 ad (Mrs. John Kocinski). There are three more in the CableSystem Channel 5 gallery, including a Wednesday, 5/19/76 ad for coverage of Washington Local Schools' Bicentennial Parade on 6th Grade Report. There are two more for Saturday Movies, a 5/22/76 ad for “Bye Bye Birdie,” “Gidget Goes to Rome” and “Young at Heart,” and a 5/29/76 ad for “Brave Bulls,” “The Gun That Won the West” and “Lorna Doone.” There's one in the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Saturday, 5/1/76 ad for WGTE-FM 91.3, asking people to tune in the next morning for their first day of broadcasting. Today's last ad is in the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Monday, 5/3/76 ad for Bronde's Ford (Phil and Don Brondes).

 

Happy Independence Day everybody! June 1976 ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...