June 11, 2012: What Toledo News Anchorman Only Has a Sixth Grade Education?

 

I added 20 more ads from October and November, 1975 plus four more Random Pages gallery additions, all by Norman Dresser, from Peach Sections of The Blade. There are five Wednesday, 10/29/75 stories, “First Black TV Station Makes Debut,” about Detroit's WGPR-TV 62, “WTUU Radio Shifts to All-News Format,” “WSPD Radio Carries CBS Mystery Series,” “WWJ Detroit Drops NBC, Picks Up CBS” and “Woman Wins Top TV Post In Detroit.” about WXYZ's Jean Findlater. There's also a Monday, 11/10/75 story, “Art Barrie To Retire After 31-Year Carreer,” followed by a Monday, 11/17/75 story, “Bowling Green's WAWR Carrying New Show,” about Radio 93 Exchange with Bill Blair, and two Thursday, 11/20/75 stories, “Detroit's WJR To Join NBC Radio Network” and “Radio Outlets Warned On Format Service.” There are four ads in the Channel 11 gallery, including a Friday, 10/31/75 ad for the syndicated Candid Camera and a Saturday, 11/1/75 ad for Larry Whatley's Stopgap. Next is a Monday, 11/3/75 ad for four movies on The Big Show, “The Naked Runner,” “Strangers When We Meet,” “Roman Holiday” and “Bridge on the River Kwai,” shown in two parts, followed by a Tuesday, 11/18/75 ad for the syndicated Don Adams Screen Test. There are four more in the Channel 11 News gallery, a Wednesday, 11/5/73 ad (Jeff Heitz, Joe Ashton), a Friday, 11/7/75 ad (Joe Ashton, Orris Tabner), a Saturday, 11/15/75 ad for Toledo's first live mini-cam report, which happened at 6:03 pm on Wednesday, November 12, and a Thursday, 11/20/75 ad. There are two ads for TV-13 Nightly News, in the Channel 13 News gallery, a Wednesday, 11/12/75 ad (Susan Short, Frank Venner, Gordon Ward, Frank Gilhooley) and a Tuesday, 11/18/75 ad, listing their successful election night predictions with Stan Odesky. There are three ads in the Buckeye Channel 5 gallery, including a Monday, 11/3/75 ad for their coverage of the West Toledo Junior Athletic League championship football game with the McKinley Hornets vs. the Anthony Wayne Generals. There's also a Thursday, 11/20/75 ad for Sixth Grade Report and a Friday, 11/21/75 ad for their Sunday replay of the Ohio State-Michigan football game, in which the Buckeyes would win, 21-14. There are five ads in the Radio Station Ads gallery, including a Friday, 10/31/75 ad for Breakfast with Barb. If anyone can tell me Barb's last name, please let me know in the comments below. There are three for WOHO, a Monday, 11/3/75 ad for Pam Daoust and Harry Kessler, on The Craig Edwards Show, a Wednesday, 11/11/75 ad for Sally Quinn, also on The Craig Edwards Show and a Wednesday, 11/12/75 ad for Phil Donahue on Rap with Larry Desner and Maureen Reagan on Rap with Harold Salverda. There's also a Monday, 11/17/75 ad for WKLR-FM 99.9's “Happy Hours.” There are two more in the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Thursday, 11/6/75 ad for Frank Unkle's Restaurant, and a Wednesday, 11/19/75 full-page ad for Xerox copiers. More November and December 1975 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...