June 1, 2012: Stay Up With Jerry

 

I added 18 more ads today, from August and September, 1975, plus four more Random Pages gallery addditions from Peach Sections of the Blade. There are three Thursday, 8/7/75 stories, “WCWA To Broadcast Goaldigger Hockey,” “WBGU-TV Covering Fair In Wood County” and “Ch. 13 Carries Series On Sign Language” and three more Thursday, 8/14/75 stories, “Drive Begun To Improve UHF Reception,” “Adrian Radio Station Plans Marathon Show,” about WABJ's Labor Day MDA fundraiser, and “'Last Tango In Paris' Coming To Ch. 100.” There are two Saturday, 8/23/75 stories, “New Anchorman Named At Ch. 24” and “Only K.C. To See Lions-Chiefs Game,” about the first telecast to originate from Pon-Met Stadium (Pontiac Silverdome) and there's a Friday, 8/22/75 story, “Ben Waters Leaving Ch. 11.” the only one of today's stories not credited to Norman Dresser. There are six ads in the Channel 24 gallery including a Monday, 8/7/95 ad, another one for the weekly Ohio Lottery show. There are five more for the 1975 Jerry Lewis Labor Day Telethon, a Friday, 8/15/75 ad (Buddy Hackett), a Friday, 8/22/75 ad (Liza Minelli), a Saturday, 8/30/75 ad (24's Bob Malik), a Sunday, 8/30/75 ad, and a Monday, 9/1/75 ad (24's Sue Hunter). There's one WGTE-TV 30 ad in the PBS gallery, a Friday, 8/15/75 Pledge Drive ad for Adland, Another Part of the Forest, The Legend of Mark Twain and Monty Python's Flying Circus. There are two in the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Friday, 8/15/75 ad for WTUU's Auction on Radio and a Monday, 8/25/75 ad for WOHO's Super Cash contest. The other nine ads are all in the Other Vintage ads gallery. First is a Tuesday, 8/12/75 ad for the Flintstone's Yabba Dabba Dew orange drink, followed by a Wednesday, 8/13/75 full-page ad for Southwyck Mall's third anniversary, and a Thursday, 8/14/75 ad for Flim-Flam. Next is another 8/14/75 ad for Woody Herman's appearance at Centennial Terrace, and a Saturday, 8/15/75 ad for Club 16's old fashioned Polish-American picnic. There's also a Thursday, 8/21/75 ad for an appearance by Ronald McDonald at the Andersons, a Saturday, 8/23/75 ad for the tenth annual German-American Festival, and two Wednesday, 8/27/75 ads, the first one, a Hickory Farms “Jerry Lewis Telethon” ad, and the second one for “The Bicentennial Dealers,” Ballas Buick, Brown Pontiac, Kistler Ford and Papenhagen Oldsmobile, before the “Central Avenue Strip” branding took hold. More September 1975 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...