May 25, 2012: ...Only If Your Dial's on 11

 

I added 16 more ads today, from May and June 1975, plus four more Random Pages gallery additions, from Peach Sections of The Blade. There's a Saturday, 5/24/75 story, “WCWA Radio To Build New 580-Foot Tower,” the first of five stories by Norman Dresser. Next is a Friday, 5/30/75 story, “Cerebral Palsy Telethon Set For Next Weekend,” followed by three Tuesday, 6/10/75 stories, “BGSU Radio Station To Trim Hours,” “Ch. 30 To Carry Five Specials On The Law” and “Adrian Radio Station Schedules Specials,” about WABJ's coverage of Adrian's sesquicentennial activities. There's also a Friday, 6/13/75 story, “Two Toledoans Added To Board Of Channel 30,” about Betty Morais and Charles Senci. There's one ad in the Channel 11 gallery, a Wednesday, 5/28/75 ad for a rerun of the John Denver special, Bighorn, sponsored by Mountain Dew. There's another ad, for the original airing, here. There's another one in the Channel 11 News gallery, a Wednesday, 6/6/75 ad which reads, “You can watch the Toledo news most adults watch. But only if your dial's on 11.” There are two in the Channel 13 gallery, a Wednesday, 6/11/75 ad for the Rolex/Max Davis Jewelers sponsored special, Days of Champions (Jean-Claude Killy, Jackie Stewart, Arnold Palmer) and a Wednesday, 6/18/75 ad for NBC's “A Girl Named Sooner” (Susan Deer, Lee Remick, Richard Crenna, Cloris Leachman). There are also two in the Channel 24 gallery, a Thursday, 5/15/75 ad for the Ohio Lottery Buckeye '300' and Lucky Buck Drawings, and a Saturday, 6/7/75 ad for the Third Annual Cerebral Palsy Telethon, broadcast from Toledo's Renaissance Valentine Theater. There are three more channel 30 ads in the PBS gallery. First is a Saturday, 5/17/75 ad for a Toledo Symphony Orchestra Outdoor Pops Concert, broadcast from the Medical College of Ohio. There's also a Saturday, 5/31/75 ad for their “Sunday Spectacular” shows, Sunday on Sesame Street, Toledo High School Tennis Championships, Music Project Presents: The Bolero, The Vienna Philharmonic, Masterpiece Theatre: Upstairs/Downstairs, The Big Band Cavalcade, Monty Python's Flying Circus and Firing Line. Also included in the ad is a registration form to become a paying member of Channel 30. And there's a Wednesday, 6/4/75 ad for the PBS special. The End of the Ho Chi Minh Trail. There are two in the Radio Station Ads gallery, the first one, a Friday, 5/16/75 ad for a John, John, John Weekend on WOHO-AM 1470, featuring the music of Elton John, John Denver and Olivia Newton John. There's also a Monday, 5/26/75 ad for the 15,000th Gas Company newscast on WSPD-AM 1370. There are also five ads in the Other Vintage ads gallery, three of them from The Blade's Wednesday 5/14/75 special insert for the 1975 Turner Cup Champion Toledo Goaldiggers. The first one is a Pabst Blue Ribbon ad, the second one is a Coca-Cola ad, and the third one is a Food Town ad, all congratulating the team. There's also a Thursday, 5/22/75 ad for a Toledo Four Wheelers Four Wheel Drive Show at Southwyck Mall and a Friday, 5/23/75 ad for Kalso Earth Shoes. I'd like to wish everybody a happy Memorial Day weekend, and of course, more 1975 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...