April 20, 2012: What Did You Learn Today?

 

I added 17 more ads today, from April and May 1974, plus five more Random Pages gallery additions from Peach Sections of The Blade, including a Thursday, 4/11/74 story by Norman Dresser, "Telethon On Ch. 24 Reported Successful." Next is a Friday, 4/12/74 story, "Transmission Line Out, Puts Ch. 24 Off Air" and a Tuesday, 4/16/74 story, "Ch. 11 Replaces Rees With Heitz In News Post." There are two Wednesday, 4/17/74 stories, by Dresser again, "Phil Donahue Show Moving To Chicago" and "CBS Repeats Sweep Of Top Ten Programs," and there are four Tuesday, 4/30/74 stories, again by Dresser, "Sylvania High School Choir On TV Tonight," about An Evening of Music (see ad below), "Buckeye Presenting Series on Women," "New Suspense Series On WSPD Radio" and "Ch. 50 To Carry WFL Grid Games." There are four ads in the Channel 11 gallery, including a Tuesday, 4/30/74 ad for An Evening of Music, mentioned above. There are three more for movies on The Big Show, a Sunday, 4/28/74 ad all of that week's movies, "Daughter of the Mind," "Shock Treatment," "It Started in Naples," "The Naked Jungle" and "Invitation to a Gunfighter." There's a similar TV Guide ad here. There's also a Tuesday, 4/30/74 ad for "It Started in Naples" (Clark Gable) and a Thursday, 5/2/74 ad for "Invitation to a Gunfighter" (Yul Brynner). There's one more in the News/Special Reports Ads gallery, a Monday, 4/15/74 ad for Eleven at Large "What Did Learn Today?" There are two channel 30 ads in the PBS gallery, the first, a Thursday, 4/11/74 ad for The Ecumenical Concert, from the Holy Rosary Cathedral, with the Toledo Symphony Orchestra and Chorale, performing the "Requiem" by Mozart. There's also a Sunday, 4/28/74 TV Tab ad for The 1974 Channel 30 Buy-In. There are six ads in the Radio Station Ads gallery, including a Sunday, 4/14/74 ad for a concert at the Toledo Sports Arena, presented by WIOT and Belkin Productions, with Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Invention and Dion. Next is a Monday, 4/15/74 ad for WMHE-FM 92.5, and there are three WSPD ads, two for Bob Owens, a Thursday, 4/18/74 ad and a Monday, 4/22/84 ad, plus a Tuesday, 4/23/74 ad for Ron Tindall. The last one is a Tuesday, 4/10/74 ad for WCWA, offering a chance to win a Honda. Today's final four ads are in the Other Vintage ads gallery, including a Friday, 4/26/74 ad for Champion Spark Plugs. There's also a Monday, 4/29/74 ad for Casper and Wendy at Franklin Park Mall's Frendship Festival, a Monday, 4/29/74 full-page ad for a "Honey of a Sale!" at Brondes Ford, and a Thursday, 5/2/74 full-page ad for Coca-Cola (Recapture the '20s). More 1974 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...