April 13, 2012: The Flood Waters Rose, The Hydroplanes Raced...

 

I added 15 more ads today, from December 1973 and January 1974, plus five more Random Pages gallery additions from Peach Sections of The Blade, including a Friday, 1/4/73 story, "Door To Open For Radio Drama Revival," about WJR carrying CBS Radio Mystery Theater, by Jean M. White. There are several more by Norman Dresser, including three Wednesday, 1/4/74 stories, "Educational Radio Station Sought Here," about WGTE-FM, "'CBS Morning News' Fails to Dent 'Today'" and "Buckeye Cablevision Expanding Channels." Next are three Tuesday, 1/15/74 stories, "Do Bigots Like Archie's Bigotry," "Premiere of New Ch. 11 Show To Start," about Axs Time, produced and hosted by Dee Wolf, and "'Merv Griffin Show' Extended Two Years." There's a Thursday, 1/17/74 story, "'Happy Days' Made Him Cry a Little" and his Wednesday, 1/23/74 column, "Not Everyone Agrees With Our Critic." There are three ads in the Channel 11 gallery, a Sunday, 12/30/73 ad for the special, The Year 1973, a Saturday, 1/5/74 ad for a University of Toledo vs. Bowling Green Rockets basketball game, and a Saturday, 1/26/74 ad for another special, An Evening With Jean Holden. There's one in the Channel 24 gallery, a Thursday, 1/10/74 ad for the ABC special, Colgate's Women's Sports Special (Dinah Shore, Billie Jean King, Princess Anne, Olga Korbut, Robyn Smith, Cheryl Toussaint). There's one in the NBC gallery, a Thursday, 1/24/74 ad for another Bob Hope Comedy Special, sponsored by Ford. There are three in the PBS gallery for programs on WGTE-TV 30. There's a Tuesday, 1/8/74 ad for channel 30's coverage of the 80th Annual Meeting of the Toledo Area Chamber of Commerce. There's also a Tuesday, 1/15/74 ad for Governor John J. Gilligan's State of the State Address, and a Tuesday, 1/22/74 ad for Bill Moyers' Journal "A Question of Impeachment," on PBS. There are three more ads for Channel 100 movies, in the Buckeye Cablevision gallery. There are two ads for "Conquest of the Planet of the Apes" and "The Poseidon Adventure," a Saturday, 12/22/73 ad and a Saturday 1/5/74 ad. There's also a Saturday, 12/29/73 ad for "Slither" (Sally Kellerman, James Caan) and "The Man Who Loved Cat Dancing" (Burt Reynolds). There's one in the Bucleye Cablevision Channel 5 gallery, a Thursday, 1/10/74 ad for Four Faces of Judaism. The last three ads are all in the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Tuesday, 12/18/73 ad for Roy Rogers Family Restaurants, a Tuesday, 12/25/73 ad for an appearance by the band, Sweet Leaf, at The Agora, in Toledo, and a Tuesday, 1/8/74 ad for Levi's for Women at The County Seat in Southwyck Mall. I also added another one to the AutoPilot Companion gallery, the Sunday, 3/26/89 TV Guide ad for the Quantum Leap pilot, "Genesis," next week's AutoPilot podcast subject. a More 1974 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...