April 11, 2012: The Anatomy of a Medical College

 

I added 19 more ads today, from November and December 1973, plus three more Random Pages gallery additions from Peach Sections of The Blade. There's a Monday, 11/26/73 story by Norman Dresser, "WGBU Documentary Wins Top Film Award," about the documentary, "Tinker." (Instead of reading WBGU, the headline did read WGBU). There are three Saturday, 12/1/73 stories, again by Dresser, "WTTO Radio Sold, To Become WTUU," "Ch. 100 To Launch New Winter Season" and "FCC May Modify Controversial Rule," about the prime-time access rule. There are two more Wednesday, 12/12/73 stories, "WIOT-FM Broadcasts Radio Comedy," about The National Lampoon Comedy Hour, again by Dresser, and an AP story, "College Course Offered To Fans on 'Star Trek'." There are four ads in the Channel 11 gallery including two more for movies on The Big Show, a Tuesday, 11/13/73 ad for "The Vikings" (Kirk Douglas, Tony Curtis) and a Wednesday, 11/14/73 ad for "Dragon Seed" (Katharine Hepburn). There's also a Saturday, 11/17/73 ad for "Boys Town" on The Late Show (Spencer Tracy, Mickey Rooney) and a Saturday, 12/1/73 ad for Rocket Basketball featuring Toledo at South Carolina. There's one in the the Channel 13 gallery, a Monday, 12/10/73 ad for the special, The Anatomy of a Medical College, a special written and narrated by John Saunders and produced by David Cromwell, and there's one in the Channel 13 News gallery, a Saturday, 11/10/73 ad, another "Someone to Believe In" ad, for The Phil Stone Report (Phyllis Quail). There's one in the Channel 24 gallery, a Wednesday, 11/28/73 ad for The 6th Annual Toledo Jaycee Auction, hosted by Ken Miller and WSPD's Jack Mitchell, on Saturday, 12/1/73. There's also one channel 30 ad in the PBS gallery, a Thursday, 12/6/73 ad for The Advocates "Should the President Be Impeached." There are three in the Buckeye Cablevision gallery, a Tuesday, 11/20/73 ad for their new 24-hour news, stocks, sports and weather reports, and two for movies on Channel 100. There's a Tuesday, 11/27/73 ad for "What's Up Doc" and "Dirty Harry," and a Saturday, 12/1/73 ad for "Rage" and "Steelyard Blues." There are three in the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Saturday, 12/1/73 ad for a Notre Dame vs Miami football game, on WMHE, a Wednesday, 12/12/73 ad for TARTA Traffic Reports on WCWA, and a Friday, 12/14/73 ad for a Super Bowl 8 contest on WSPD. There are five in the Other Vintage ads gallery including a Friday, 11/23/73 two-page ad for a toy sale at Arlans. Next is a Wednesday, 11/28/73 ad for Toledo Trust / Toledo Hornets Hockey Stick Day, followed by a Friday, 11/30/73 ad for Channel Master Rotors at Tower House of Toledo. There's also a Wednesday, 12/12/73 ad for an Alice Cooper Concert at the Sports Arena, which was cut short because of fans throwing crap onstage, and there's a Thursday, 12/18/73 ad for Volkswagen, a take-off on Alka-Seltzer ads. More December 1973 and January 1974 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...