March 28,2012: The Ghoul, In "Living" Flesh

 

I added twelve ads today, from June, July and August, 1972 plus ten more Random Pages gallery additions, from The Blade, including one more about Watergate. There are four Friday, 6/1/73 stories by Norman Dresser, "Soaper and Quiz Fans To Get a Break," "Ch. 11 to Carry CBS Show Taped In Toledo," "'Mike Douglas Show' To Be Taped in Ohio" and "A Very Late Show To Follow Tonight," about NBC's Tomorrow. Next are two more stories by Norman Dresser, a Tuesday, 6/5/73 story, "Ch. 24 To Carry Canadian Football" and a Wednesday, 6/6/73 story, "Black TV Station Set In Detroit," about WGPR-TV 62. There's also a Wednesday, 6/15/73 story by Seymour Rothman, "Local Boy Makes Good On TV," about Dick Torio doing commentary for CBS Sports Spectacular coverage of World Cup Wrestling in Toledo. Next is a Monday, 6/18/73 story, "WCWA Radio Fires 5 Staff Members" and a Friday, 6/29/73 AP story by Jerry Buck, "Pay TV Making Debut Via Cable." There's also a Sunday, 7/1/73 TV Tab photo of Charlie Chaplin, for WBGU's airing of "The Gold Rush," and a Tuesday, 7/17/73 story by Norman Dresser, "WJR Personality Marks Anniversary," with a photo of Jay Roberts. There are three more Norman Dresser stories, a Saturday, 7/21/73 item, "25th Anniversary Marked by Ch. 13" and two Monday, 7/30/73 stories, "Ch. 11 Decides to Telecast 'Sticks and Bones' But at 12:30 a.m. Instead Of Prime Time" and "Swimming Safety Film Series Set On Ch. 24," about Romper Room showing "Teaching Johnny to Swim." There are only two ads for tv shows today, The first one is in the Channel 11 gallery, a Monday, 7/2/73 ad for the conclusion of Elizabeth R (Glenda Jackson) and the second one is in the Buckeye Cablevision Channel 5 gallery, a Monday, 7/2/73 ad for The Great Lakes Invitational Softball Tournament from the Lucas County Rec. Center. There are five more in the Radio Station Ads gallery, one a Friday, 6/1/73 WTTO ad for a Toledo Sports Arena concert with the Guess Who and Argent. There are four WCWA-AM 1230 "The idea...It's working" ads, a Monday 7/23/73 ad, a Monday, 7/30/73 ad, a Friday, 8/3/73 ad, and a Tuesday, 8/6/73 ad. There are five more in the Other Vintage ads gallery including a Thursday, 6/7/73 ad for The Ghoul, at Cedar Point. There's a Sunday, 6/10/73 full-page ad for Ontario Discount Department Store and a Saturday, 7/7/73 ad for The Andersons. There's also a Friday, 7/20/73 ad for The Cake Walkin' Jass Band at Big Al's (Holiday Inn West) and a Monday, 7/23/73 ad for Towne Club Pop. More 1973 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...