March 26, 2012: Watergate

 

I added 23 May 1973 ads today, plus three more Random Pages gallery additions from Peach Sections of The Blade, all by Norman Dresser. There are two Monday, 5/7/73 stories, "WMHE-FM Granted Power Increase" and "WBGU Documentary Wins Film Award," about the program, Tinker. There's also a Friday, 5/11/73 story, "Ch. 30 To Carry Watergate Hearings" and four Tuesday, 5/15/73 stories, "Three Networks To Have Live Opening Day Coverage Of Watergate Hearings By Senate," "Toledo Wrestling Bouts to Be Taped," "Cablevision To Tape Seminar on Justice" and "'Elizabeth R' Series Scheduled on Ch. 11". There are nine ads in the Channel 11 gallery, all for movies on The Big Show and The Late Show, on Saturday nights. There's a Tuesday, 5/1/73 ad for "Dear Heart" (Geraldine Page, Glenn Ford), a Wednesday, 5/2/73 ad for "Frankie and Johnny" (Elvis Presley) and a Monday, 5/7/73 ad for "Some like It Hot" (Marilyn Monroe, Tony Curtis, Jack Lemmon). Next is a Saturday, 5/12/73 ad for "4 For Texas" (Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin), a Thursday, 5/17/73 ad for "A Hole in the Head" (Frank Sinatra) and a Saturday, 5/19/73 ad for "A Summer Place" (Sandra Dee, Troy Donahue). There's also a Thursday, 5/24/73 ad for "Bataan" (Robert Taylor), a Sunday, 5/27/73 ad for "Kangaroo" (Peter Lawford, Richard Boone) and a Monday, 5/28/73 ad for "The Desperate Hours" (Humphrey Bogart). There are two more in the Channel 11 News gallery, a Tuesday, 5/8/73 ad (Bill Rees) and a Sunday, 5/27/73 ad for Hotline "Alcoholism, Chapter II" (Joe Inzitari). There are five ads in the Channel 24 gallery including a Tuesday, 5/1/73 ad for Children of Zero (Art L 5/1/73 adinkletter) and a Tuesday, 5/1/73 ad for a rerun of ABC's Afterschool Special, "Follow the North Star." There are three more for syndicated shows aired at 7:30, a Tuesday, 5/8/73 ad for The Adventurer (Gene Barry), a Wednesday, 5/16/73 ad for Let's Make a Deal (Monty Hall) and a Friday, 5/25/73 ad for Wait Till Your Father Gets Home. There's one in the PBS gallery, a Tuesday, 5/1/73 ad for the fifth annual Channel 30 Buy In, underwritten by Max Davis Jeweler. There are three more ads for The Midnight Movie, in the Buckeye Cablevision Channel 5 gallery, a Friday, 5/11/73 ad for "It Should Happen to You" (Judy Holliday, Peter Lawford), a Friday, 5/25/73 ad for "The Juggler" (Kirk Douglas) and a Monday, 5/28/73 ad for "The Caine Mutiny" (Fred MacMurray, Jose Ferrer, Humphrey Bogart). There are two more "Your Good Neighbor Station" ads for WSPD, in the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Saturday, 5/5/73 ad (Don Edwards, Chuck Parmalee) and a Thursday, 5/10/73 ad (Good Neighbor), Today's last ad is in the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Wednesday, 5/2/73 ad for Zip'z sundaes. More 1973 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...