February 24, 2012: Meet Bozo

I added 14 more ads today, from March, April and May 1972 plus five more Random Pages gallery additions from Blade Peach Sections. There's a Wednesday, 3/29/72 story by Norman Dresser, "Off Air, WGLN Expected Back in June," a Thursday, 4/13/72 story by George Zielke, "FCC's Rule May Force Earlier Start Of Games," a Saturday, 4/15/72 story by Norman Dresser, "Ch. 7 to Cut Back Evening News Show" which also includes an item on Michigan staying on standard time again. There's also a Thursday, 4/27/72 story by James Stegall, "It's Howdy Doody Time in Findlay" (Buffalo Bob Smith) and a Monday, 5/1/72 story, again by Norman Dresser, "WJR Observing 50th Year This Week" which also includes two other stories, "Ch. 70 Opens Link With PBS Network" and "'Bonanza' Repeats Scheduled for Ch. 13." There are two ads for movies on The Big Show, in the Channel 11 gallery, a Thursday, 3/2/72 ad for "In Like Flint" (Lee Marvin) and a Monday, 3/6/72 ad for "The King and I" (Yul Brynner, Deborah Kerr), shown in two parts. There are also two in the Channel 13 gallery, a Tuesday, 4/4/72 ad for a rerun of the NBC special, Circus Town and a Thursday, 4/27/72 ad for How's Your Crime IQ?, sponsored by Certified Alarm & Signal Co. The Channel 24 gallery also has two ads, a Wednesday, 3/15/72 ad ABC's The Danny Thomas Special and a Wednesday, 4/19/72 ad for another special, Superstars For a Spring Evening, with Engelbert Humperdinck and Shirley Bassey. There's one in the PBS gallery, a Sunday, 4/23/72 ad for The Great Channel 30 Buy-In and there are two in the Buckeye Cablevision Channel 5 gallery. There's a Sunday, 4/23/72 TV Tab ad for five "Adventure Week" movies, "Captured," "Fighter Squadron," "Mask of Dimitrios," "Sergeant York" and "I Am a Fugitive," and there's a Monday, 4/24/72 ad for Buckeye Bingo. There are four more in the Radio Station Ads gallery, including a Wednesday, 3/15/72 ad for WCWA (What D-Ya Say...) and a Friday, 4/7/72 ad for WOHO's postponed 1972 Easter Egg Hunt at Ottawa Park. There are also two for WSPD's Sights & Sounds Contest, a Monday, 3/27/72 ad and a Thursday, 4/13/72 ad which includes an entry form. The last ad is in the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Tuesday, 4/11/72 ad for an appearance by CKLW-TV 9's Bozo the Clown at Hudson's Franklin Park. More 1972 ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...