December 6, 2012: Welcome Home, Stan!

 

I added thirteen more ads today, from June and July 1980, plus ten more Random Pages gallery additions from Peach Sections of The Blade. There are two Friday, 6/6/80 stories by Norman Dresser, “Cable News Network Opens New Era” and “Ch. 30 Receives Two Ohio Network Awards” and two Tuesday, 6/10/80 stories, “New Technology Described As Threat To Public TV” and “Cable C-Span Carrying Mayors' Meeting Telecast.” There's a Thursday, 6/12/80 story, “WBGU Carries Controversial Suicide Show,” about the program, Choosing Suicide and a several Tuesday, 6/17/80 items by Norman Dresser under the title, “About People, Events In Broadcasting World.” There are two Friday, 6/27/80 stories, also by Dresser, “David Letterman TV Show Welcome Daytime Addition” and “Snyder Signs Contract But Loses 'Prime Time',” about Tom Snyder continuing as host of Tomorrow. There's a Wednesday, 7/2/80 story, by Mr. Dresser, “Chs. 13, 11 Beat Out Ch. 24 In Local News, Prime Time TV” and two Thursday, 7/3/80 stories, “WGTE-FM Gets Grant To Start Lima Station” and “University of Toledo Division Receives Award of $100,000,” about UT's community cable channel. The remaining stories are also by Norman Dresser, a Tuesday, 7/22/80 story, “Are Days Of Glory Now Numbered For The Commercial TV Networks?” Next is a Friday, 7/25/80 story, “FCC Ruling On Cablevision Called Subscriber Victory” and several more Thursday, 7//31/80 items under the title “About People, Events In TV, radio World.” And now the ads... There are two additions to the Channel 11 News gallery, a Thursday, 6/26/80 ad for People's Savings' Ed Knowles' Money Talk, now on Toledo Eleven News, and a Wednesday, 7/23/80 ad, thanking Toledo viewers for making “The News People” #1. There are also two additions to the Channel 13 News gallery, both welcoming new 13 Strong meteorologist Stan Stachak, a Monday, 6/30/80 ad and a Tuesday, 7/1/80 ad, There are two additions to the PBS gallery, both for channel 30, a Tuesday, 6/10/80 ad for Louis Rukeyser: Toledo Revisited, and a Friday, 6/13/80 ad for the movie, “Eleanor and Franklin.” There's one addition to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, a Sunday, 6/1/80 ad for “The Amazing Movie Channel Weekend.” There are two additions to the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Tuesday, 6/3/80 ad for Ed Knowles, talking business with Craig Edwards and Jay Scott, on WOHO-AM and WXEZ-FM, and a Friday, 7/11/80 ad for WSPD Family Night at the Mud Hens game. There are three additions to the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Thursday, 6/5/80 ad for the Highland Appliance Midnite Madness Sale, a Friday, 6/13/80 ad for the Holland Strawberry Festival, and a Saturday, 6/21/80 ad for Food Town's Super Heroes night with the Mud Hens. Today's last addition is to the Jerry Lewis Telethon gallery, a Friday, 7/11/80 ad for Sanka coffee (Help Jerry help 'his kids.”).

 

Don't forget the Holiday ads gallery, and August 1980 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...