December 16, 2012: Christmas Parade

 

I added 24 more ads today plus one Peach Section story, all from 1970-1973 and all of them for the holiday season. There are three ads for channel 13, two for channel 24, one for Buckeye Cablevision channel 5 and two for radio stations. They're all in are in the Holiday Season Ads gallery except for these...a Wednesday, 11/25/70 item from the Peach Section, “Tangerine Bowl On WSPD-TV.” which is located in the Football Bowl Game Gallery. There are also two more ads in that gallery, a Monday, 12/28/70 ad for The Tangerine Bowl on channel 13 in which the University of Toledo defeated William & Mary 40-12, and a Thursday, 12/30/70 ad for the Astro-Blue Bonnet Bowl on channel 24 in which Oklahoma and Alabama played to a 24-24 tie. And now for the others. There are two more ads for channel 13, a Wednesday, 12/16/70 ad for Bell System Family Theatre, “Bing Crosby's Christmas Show,” on NBC and a Friday, 12/31/70 ad for the 13th annual Rex Humbard New Year's Eve Special. There's one for channel 24, a Thursday, 12/30/70 ad for New Year's Eve with Guy Lombardo and a Sunday, 12/23/73 TV Tab ad for three Christmas specials on Buckeye Cablevision Ch. 5, for Songs of the Season, Christmas Is and The Magic of Christmas. There are two more for radio stations, a Monday, 11/30/70 ad for “Santa Calls” on WSPD and a Monday, 12/10/73 ad for Christmas music on WPOS-FM. Now for the rest of the ads. There's a Friday 11/20/70 ad for Toledo's Christmas Parade, a Thursday, 11/26/70 ad for Santa and Mickey Mouse at Westgate and another 11/26/70 ad for holiday decorations at the Anderson's. Next is a Tuesday, 12/1/70 ad for “Everyone's Christmas Card,” Master Charge, followed by a Thursday, 11/19/71 ad for Toledo's Christmas Parade. There are three Thursday, 11/25/71 ads for Santa Claus appearances, the first one for Rymie the Clown and Santa at Westgate, the second one for Woodville Mall's International Christmas, and the third one for Santa's helicopter arrivals at Great Eastern, Miracle Mile and Southland Shopping Centers. There's a Friday, 11/17/72 ad for Toledo's Christmas Parade and three Thursday, 11/23/72 ads for Santa Claus appearances, the first one for Santa and Yogi Bear and friends at Franklin Park Mall, the second one for Buzzy the Clown and Santa at Westgate, and the third one for Santa's helicopter arrivals at Great Eastern, Miracle Mile and Southland Shopping Centers. There's also a Tuesday, 12/19/72 ad or Stroh's Beer, a Wednesday, 12/20/72 ad for Toledo Edison, a Thursday, 11/22/73 ad for Santa and Cookie Monster at Southland, and a Thursday 11/29/73 ad for TARTA. More holiday ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...