January 16, 2012: Nobody Likes a Know-It-All

I added 22 more ads today from May, June, July and August, 1970 plus three items from the Blade Peach Section, in the Random Pages gallery. The first one is a Wednesday, 7/8/70 AP story, "CKLW-TV Sale Given Approval" followed by a Monday, 7/13/70 "One Viewer's View" by Norman Dresser which featured stories on Channel 50 airing The David Frost Show, three local radio station items and stories on NBC's Hall of Fame production of "Hamlet" and NET's The Show. There's also a Monday, 8/24/70 Dresser piece on the channel 13 premiere of The Phil Donahue Show which was still originating in Dayton at the time. You'll find an ad for the premiere below, as well. There are two ads in the Channel 11 gallery. The first one is a Monday, 7/13/70 ad for their new daytime lineup which had The Game Game at 9:00, followed by a delayed bropadcast of the CBS soap, Love is a Many Splendored Thing at 9:30 and The Lucy Show at 10:00, also on CBS and Truth or Consequences at 2:00. There's also a Wednesday, 7/29/70 ad for Tony Martin on The Eckrich Family Hour. There are two more channel 11 ads in the News/Special Reports Ads gallery, a Tuesday, 7/7/70 ad for A Conversation with a College President (William T. Jerome, II) and a Monday, 8/17/70 ad for Projection 70 "Urban Systems." There are also two in the Channel 13 gallery. The first is a Wednesday, 6/24/70 ad for Youth Talks With Linkletter, another special on drug abuse with a local segment featuring Frank Venner hosting Dr. Peter Overstreet and John Carr. The second one is a Monday, 8/24/70 ad for the Toledo premiere of The Phil Donahue Show (Al Capp, Gloria Steinem). There are three in the Channel 24 gallery, a Friday, 6/19/70 ad for ABC's coverage of The U.S. Open, a Saturday, 7/4/70 ad for the The Johnny Zilba Show and a Friday, 7/31/70 ad for The College All-Star Game on ABC which featured the Super Bowl champion Kansas City Chiefs going against the best of last year's graduates. There are seven in the Radio Station Ads gallery, including a Saturday, 6/13/70 ad for The Bible Speaks to You "Overcoming Fear of the Dark" on WCWA-AM, WAWA-FM in Bowling Green, WFIN-AM in Findlay and WOTE-AM in Detroit. There's also a Saturday, 6/13/70 ad for The Golden State 400 stock car race on WGLN-FM 105.5. There are three WSPD-AM 1370 ads, a Thursday, 6/4/70 ad for Mosquito Control Reports, a Monday, 6/15/70 ad for a Father's Day contest, and a Fridsay, 7/31/70 ad for their computerized horoscope "Astrolog," sponsored by Lasalle's and there are two WTTO-AM 1520 ads. There's a Friday, 6/19/70 ad for a chance to win a 1970 Z-28 Camaro ("The Famous 15 Sunshine Machine") and a Wednesday, 7/1/70 ad for the "Return of the Biggies." There are six more ads in the Other Vintage ads gallery. There's a Wednesday, 5/27/70 ad for the Super Shef at Burger Chef Family Restaurants, a Tuesday, 6/30/70 ad for Brondes Ford and a Wednesday, 7/1/70 ad for The Keebler Elf-Magic Show at the Woodville Mall. There's also a Wednesday, 7/1/70 Toledo Edison Independence Day ad, a Tuesday, 7/7/70 ad for 16 ounce cans of Coke and a Sunday, 7/12/70 comics-section ad for a 4-foot Chiquita Banana. More 1970 ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...