August 12, 2011: City for the 60's

There are nineteen ads today from September and October 1961 plus in the Random Pages gallery, part of a Wednesday, 10/18/61 Ray Oviatt "On the Beam" column in the Blade, announcing Jack Paar's return to Toledo TV on channel 13. There are three ads in the Channel 11 gallery, including a Wednesday, 9/27/61 ad for a rerun of NBC's Wagon Train (John McIntyre, Robert Horton) which had previously been seen on channel 13. There's also a Friday, 9/29/61 ad for CBS shows Rawhide "Incident at Rio Salado" (Eric Fleming, Clint Eastwood) and the Father of the Bride premiere, "Bombshell at Breakfast" (Leon Ames, Myrna Fahey) and a Saturday, 9/30/61 ad for the first hour long episode of Gunsmoke titled "Perce," on CBS. There are three more channel 11 ads in the News/Special Reports Ads gallery including two for CBS Reports, a Thursday, 10/12/61 ad for "Eisenhower on the Presidency" and a Thursday, 10/19/61 ad for "The Water Famine." There's also a Thursday, 10/26/61 ad for Series One "City for the 60's." There are ten in the the Channel 13 gallery, most of them for ABC shows. There's a Wednesday, 9/27/61 ad for the premiere of Top Cat. According to two on-line episode guides, it was the episode "Hawaii Here We Come" but the Blade had the episode "Top Cat Falls in Love" in it's listings. Next is a 9/28/61 ad for Thursday night shows The Adventures of Ozzie and Harriet "The Dancing Lessons" (Ozzie Nelson), The Donna Reed Show "The Close Shave" and The Real McCoys "George's Housekeeper" (Walter Brennan) and a Friday, 9/29/61 ad for The Flintstones "The Missing Bus" and the premiere episode of Target: The Corruptors, "The Million Dollar Dump." There's also a Saturday, 9/30/61 ad for Leave it to Beaver "Wally Goes Steady"(Jerry Mathers, Tony Dow), a Thursday, 10/12/61 ad for The Untouchables "The Troubleshooter" (Robert Stack) and a Friday, 10/13/61 ad for 77 Sunset Strip "The Inverness Cape Caper" (Roger Smith, Efrem Zimbalist, Jr. and Edd "Kookie" Byrnes). Next is a Saturday, 10/14/61 ad for The Steve Allen Show and The Roaring 20's "Kitty Goes West" (Dorothy Provine). Steve Allen's show was delayed from Wednesday, 10/11/61 because channel 13 showed the syndicated Divorce Court instead. There's a Saturday, 10/21/61 ad for Margie "County Fair" (Cynthia Pepper). It was delayed from Thursday, 10/19/61 because channel 13 showed the syndicated Man Undercover instead. There are two more for NBC's Jack Paar Show which had previously been carried by channel 11. There's a Sunday, 10/22/61 ad and a Monday, 10/23/61 ad. There's one more in the Channel 13 News gallery, a Sunday, 10/29/61 ad for News Final (Earl Wells), Local Scene and Weekend Weather (Don Bexton). The last two ads are in the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Thursday, 9/28/61 ad for Toledo Tornadoes Football (vs. Detroit Redskins) at Waite Stadium, and a Sunday, 10/1/61 ad for Toledo Edison (Reddy Kilowatt has a Big thing Going with the KIDS). More vintage ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...