August 1, 2011: Toledo After Midnight

You'll find 23 more ads today, all from March 1961, including 16 in the the Channel 11 gallery. There's a Monday, 3/6/61 ad for Highway Patrol (Broderick Crawford), a Wednesday, 3/8/61 ad for The U.S. Steel Hour "Private Eye, Private Eye," on CBS, and a Tuesday, 3/14/61 ad for The Red Skelton Show with guest Ed Wynn, also on CBS. There are twelve more for movies on The Big Show, Hollywood Spectacular and Pajama Playhouse. There's a Friday, 3/3/61 ad for "King of the Wild Horses" (Preston Foster) and "The Quiet Man" (John Wayne, Maureen O'Hara), a Sunday, 3/5/61 ad for "Gung Ho!" (Randolph Scott) and "This Above All" (Tyrone Power, Joan Fontaine) and a Monday, 3/6/61 ad for "Clipper Ship" (Charles Bickford). Next is a Tuesday, 3/7/61 ad for "Texas" (William Holden), a Wednesday, 3/8/61 ad for "A Medal for Benny" (Dorothy Lamour) and a Thursday, 3/9/61 ad for "Tarzan's New York Adventure" (Johnny Weissmuller) and "Flight Lieutenant" (Glenn Ford). There's also a Saturday, 3/11/61 ad for "Mr. Deeds Goes to Town" (Gary Cooper), a Sunday, 3/12/61 ad for "San Antone" (Rod Cameron) and "Our Town" (William Holden, Matha Scott) and a Monday, 3/13/61 ad for "Buck Privates" (Bud Abbott, Lou Costello) and "The Road to Denver" (John Payne). There's also a Tuesday, 3/14/61 ad for "The Road to Denver," a Thursday, 3/16/61 ad for "Tarzan's Secret Treasure" (Johnny Weissmuller, Maureen O'Sullivan) and "Hell's Outpost" (Rod Cameron) and a Friday, 3/18/61 ad for "Pittsburgh" (John Wayne, Randolph Scott). There's one more channel 11 ad in the News/Special Reports Ads gallery, a Thursday, 3/9/61 ad for Series One "Toledo After Midnight." There's just one ad in the Channel 13 gallery, a Sunday, 3/5/61 ad for Ed Allen Time. There are three WTOL-AM ads in the Radio Station Ads gallery. There are two Monday, 3/13/61 ads for the Ingemar Johansson-Floyd Patterson heavyweight championship fight. The pre-fight show, sponsored by Irv Pollock, featured Doug Tabner, Frank Gilhooley, Sid Goldberg and Joe Tabner. There's also a Monday, 3/20/61 ad for the return of My True Story. The last two ads are in the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Monday, 3/6/61 ad for the Bohn Contex Calculator for $125 at Toledo Business Machines and another 3/6/61 ad for Food Town, "Don't turn your back on the bare facts." More vintage ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...