July 6, 2011: Way Back in 1960

I added 20 more ads today from March, April and May 1960 plus one small item from Ray Oviatt's 'On the Beam' column in the Random Pages gallery, a Wednesday, April 27, 1960 piece on channel 11's The Law receiving a journalism award from the Toledo Bar Association. There are twelve ads in the Channel 11 gallery. There's a Monday, 3/7/60 ad for Playhouse 90 "Tomorrow" on CBS (Richard Boone), a Monday, 3/7/60 ad for The Jack Paar (Tonight) Show on NBC, a Wednesday, 3/9/60 ad for The U.S. Steel Hour "Revolt in Headley" on CBS and a Thursday, 3/10/60 ad for Way Back in 1960 (Herb Shriner). Next is a Thursday, 3/10/60 ad for Markham "The Long Search" on CBS (Ray Milland), a Saturday, 3/12/60 ad for Hollywood Spectacular "Double Indemnity" (Barbara Stanwyck, Fred MacMurray), a Friday 3/25/60 ad for Buick Electra Playhouse "The Snows of Kilamanjaro" on CBS (Ann Todd, Robert Ryan) and a Wednesday, 4/20/60 ad for The U.S. Steel Hour The Girl Who Knew Too Much" on CBS. There are two Thursday, 4/21/60 ads for the WTOL-TV premiere of the syndicated series Manhunt "Killer in Blue" (Victor Jory, Patrick McVey), a Saturday, 4/23/60 ad for Let's Ask the Doctor "Sinus," presented by the Academy of Medicine, and a Wednesday, 5/4/60 ad for The U.S. Steel Hour "Girl in the Gold Bathtub" (Marisa Pavan). The Channel 13 gallery has one, a Tuesday, 4/26/60 ad for the syndicated series Four Just Men "The Man in the Royal Suite" (Dan Dailey. Richard Conte, Jack Hawkins, Vittorio de Sica). There are two more ads for The Bell Telephone Hour in the NBC gallery, a Friday, 3/11/60 ad for "Main Street, U.S.A." and a Friday, 4/29/60 ad for "The Mikado" (Groucho Marx). Both were shown on Detroit's WWJ-TV 4. There are two more WTOL-AM 1230 ads in the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Friday, 3/25/60 ad for a 1960 High School Basketball Championship game between Toledo Scott and Dayton Roosevelt, sponsored by Harry's King Size Clothes, and a Monday, 4/18/60 ad for the Cleveland Indians opening day game against the Detroit Tigers. The last three ads are all in the Other Vintage ads gallery, including a Sunday, 4/3/60 full-page ad for Food Town. Read the whole ad and imagine it running today. There's also a Friday, 4/8/60 full-page ad for new Sunoco Blend 200X gasoline and a Wednesday, 4/20/60 ad for the Community Traction Co. More vintage ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...