July 15, 2011: The Local Scene

Today I added twenty more ads from September and October 1960 including ads for ten series premieres. There are six in the the Channel 11 gallery. There's a Friday, 9/30/60 ad for the syndicated show Manhunt, now at a new time, Friday at 10 PM, when CBS had The Twilight Zone scheduled. Next is a Monday, 10/3/60 ad for the series premiere of The Andy Griffith Show, "The New Housekeeper," a Wednesday, 10/5/60 ad for Perry Como's Kraft Music Hall on NBC and a Friday, 10/7/60 ad for the series premiere of Route 66, "Black November" (George Maharis, Martin Milner), which aired after the second Kennedy-Nixon debate. There's also a Friday, 10/4/60 ad for the Reynolds Aluminum sponsored National Auto Show at Cobo Hall in Detroit and for the CBS special which aired on channel 11 on Sunday, 10/16/60, and there's a Monday, 10/17/60 ad for "Tarzan the Fearless" (Buster Crabbe) and "Daniel Boone, Trailblazer" on The Big Show. There's one more in the News/Special Reports Ads gallery, a Monday, 10/3/60 ad for for another edition of the CBS News series Presidential Countdown with Walter Cronkite. There are nine in the Channel 13 gallery including a Thursday, 9/29/60 ad for the series premiere of My Three Sons, "Chip Off the Old Block" and a Friday, 9/30/60 ad for the series premieres of Guestward Ho! "The Hootens Buy a Ranch" (on a one-day delay) and The Flintstones, "The Flintstone Flyer." Next is a Monday, 10/3/60 ad for the series premiere of Surfside 6, "Country Gentleman" and the third season premiere of Peter Gunn, "The Passenger" (Craig Stevens). This was the first time the show aired on ABC after it's NBC run. There's a Tuesday, 10/4/60 ad for the series premiere of Stagecoach West, "High Lonesome," a Thursday, 10/6/60 ad for a Victor Borge special on ABC, and a Friday 10/7/60 ad for the series premiere of The Law and Mr. Jones, "What's in a Name?" (James Whitmore). There's also a Saturday, 10/8/60 ad for the NBC special, Astaire Time (which channel 13 aired on a nine-day delay), a Friday, 10/14/60 ad for the series premiere of Harrigan and Son, "Junior Joins the Law Firm" (Georgine Darcy), and a Saturday, 10/15/60 ad for the series premiere of The Roaring '20s, "Burnett's Woman" (Donald May). There's one more in the Channel 13 News gallery, a Sunday, 10/9/60 ad for The Local Scene with Earl Wells, sponsored by People's Savings. There's just one in the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Saturday, 10/1/60 ad for an Ohio State vs. Southern Cal. football game on WTOL-AM. The last two are in the Other Vintage ads gallery, both Wednesday, 10/12/60 ads, one for $1.59 records at Grinnell's and one for Maumee's Parkway Plaza shopping center. More vintage ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...