June 10, 2011: Tell It To Thirteen

 

 

Today I added 20 more ads, from June and July 1967. There are seven in the Channel 11 gallery. There's a Saturday, 6/10/67 ad for The Buick Open on NBC, a Monday, 6/12/67 ad for Peanuts "You're in Love, Charlie Brown" on CBS, a Wednesday, 6/14/67 ad for the premiere of Harness Racing Sweepstakes and a Monday, 6/19/67 ad for The Swinging Sounds of Expo '67. There are three more ads for 1967 summer shows, a Thursday, 6/22/67 ad for The Dean Martin Summer Show on NBC (Vic Damone, Carol Lawrence, Gail Martin), a Tuesday, 7/4/67 ad for Spotlight, which replaced Red Skelton's show, and a Monday, 7/10/67 ad for Vacation Playhouse "Maggie Brown," which originally aired in 1963. There are two more in the Channel 11 News gallery, a Monday, 6/12/67 ad for News/90 (Don Edwards, Lamont McLoughlin, Clem Gendron, Orris Tabner, Derry Bird) and a Saturday, 7/1/67 ad for The Eleven O'Clock Report, which expanded from 20 to 30 minutes in length. There's just one in the Channel 13 gallery, a Friday, 6/16/67 ad for The Mike Douglas Show (Vincent Price) and there are two more ads for Deadline in the Channel 13 News gallery, a Monday, 6/12/67 ad for the "Tell It To Thirteen" segment (Dee Leeds, Frank Venner) and a Tuesday, 6/20/67 ad (Jim Uebelhart, Gordon Ward, Frank Venner, Jim Rudes, David Drury and others). There's one in the NET gallery, a Tuesday, 7/4/67 ad for Jazz Casual with Louis Armstrong, on channel 30. I posted three more in the Radio Station Ads gallery, including two WTTO-AM 1520 ads, a Tuesday, 6/27/67 ad for The Joe Pyne Show and a Monday, 7/3/67 ad for The Gary Calvert Show. There's also a Monday, 7/10/67 ad for Zingo on WCWA-AM 1230. There are four more in the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Friday, 6/9/67 ad for Toledo's Hullabaloo Scene Dance Club on Navarre Ave., a Wednesday, 7/5/67 ad for Mustang Auto Daredevils Tournament of Thrills at Toledo Speedway, a Thursday, 7/6/67 ad for Wrestling at the Sports Arena (Bobo Brazil, Karl Von Brauner) and a Monday, 7/10/67 ad for Buckeye Draft Beer (now in bottles).

I'd also like to congratulate Mr. Norman Plummer (Bob Kelly), who is retiring today at 70, from a long career on the radio in Toledo. Here are a couple of ads featuring Bob. There's a WTOD ad and a W48AP ad.

More vintage ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...