May 27, 2011: News at Eleven

I added 18 more ads today, from June and July 1966, plus two more Ray Oviatt 'On the Beam' columns in the Random Pages gallery. There's one from 6/15/66 about Let's Go to the Races titled "Race Horses, Right in the Parlor!" which also has news about The Newlywed Game and The Rat Patrol, and one from 6/20/66 titled "Soupy Sales' Carreer Soaring High." Also included is an item about the number of color TVs in Toledo and news about Tarzan, Petticoat Junction and Jackie Gleason's show. There are ten ads in the Channel 11 gallery, most of them for movies on The One O'Clock Movie, The Big Show, Monday Night at the Movies and The Late Show. There's a Thursday, 6/2/66 ad for "Shadow of Fear" (Mona Freeman) and "Tarzan's Hidden Jungle" (Gordon Scott), a Saturday, 6/4/66 ad for "The Egyptian" (Victor Mature) and a Monday, 6/6/66 ad for "The Pride and the Passion" (Cary Grant, Sophia Loren, Frank Sinatra). Next is a Tuesday, 6/7/66 ad for "Three Coins in the Fountain" (Rossano Brazzi, Jean Peters) and "Tarzan's Savage Fury" (Lex Barker), a Wednesday, 6/8/66 ad for "Ivy" (Joan Fontaine) and "Cockleshell Heroes" and a Thursday 6/9/66 ad for "All the King's Men" (Broderick Crawford) and "Little Giant" (Lou Costello). There's also a Thursday, 6/16/66 ad for "The Sentence" and "Ten Tall Men" (Burt Lancaster), a Saturday, 6/18/66 ad for "The Enemy Below," a Monday, 6/20/66 ad for the Death Valley Days episode "The Firebrand" and "Roots of Heaven" and a Tuesday 6/21/66 ad for "Our Man in Hanava" (Alec Guiness) and "Killer Ape" (Johnny Weissmuller as Jungle Jim). There are three more for movies in the Channel 13 gallery, a Friday, 6/3/66 ad for "This Happy Feeling" (Debbie Reynolds), a Friday, 6/10/66 ad for "Romanoff and Juliet" (Sandra Dee, John Gavin) and "With Fire and Sword" and a Thursday, 6/16/66 ad for "Joe Butterfly" (Burgess Meredith, Audie Murphy). There are two in the Channel 24 gallery including a 6/13/66 ad for Monday night shows, The Soupy Sales Show, The Lloyd Thaxton Show, Of Land and Seas, The CBS Evening News with Walter Cronkite, three NBC shows, Hullaballo, The John Forsythe Show and Dr. Kildare "In the Roman Candle's Bright Glare," The Andy Griffith Show "Aunt Bee Takes a Job" on CBS, The Westerners, Talent Scouts and News at Eleven. The other one is a Sunday, 6/26/66 ad for Business in Review (Joe Jansen). There's one more in the Channel 24 News gallery, a Sunday 7/3/66 ad for News at Eleven (Bill Hartnet). The last two of today's ads are in the Other Vintage ads gallery. There's a Wednesday, 6/29/66 Variety Club ad for Squirt and a Thursday, 6/30/66 McDonald's ad for the store at 805 N. Reynolds Rd. in Toledo. More vintage ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...