April 4, 2011: New Detroit UHF Station

I added 19 more ads today from December 1964 and January 1965, plus a Toledo blade story in the Random Pages gallery. It's a Saturday, 12/19/65 'On the Beam' column by Ray Oviatt on new Detroit station WKBD-TV 50. There are 14 ads in the Channel 11 gallery, including a Monday 12/21/69 ad for two specials, Transparent Giant (about Toledo's glass industry) and Advent and Christmas Cantata (composed by Toledoan Kenneth Holland), a Wednesday 1/6/65 ad for a Toledo vs. Bowling Green basketeball game, and a Monday 1/11/65 ad for Death Valley Days "Peter the Hunter" (Julie Sommars). There are eleven more for movies on Hollywood Spectacular, The One O'Clock Movie, The Sunday Show, Night Owl Theater, The Big Show and Thursday Night at the Movies. There's a Saturday, 12/19/64 ad for "About Face" (Gordon MacRae, Eddie Bracken), a Friday, 12/25/64 ad for "Young at Heart" (Doris Day, Frank Sinatra), a Saturday, 12/26/64 ad for "The Big Trees" (Kirk Douglas) and a Sunday, 12/27/64 ad for "Challenge to Lassie." Next is a Wednesday, 12/30/64 ad for "Dixie" (Bing Crosby), a Thursday, 12/31/64 ad for "So This is Love" (Kathryn Grayson, Merv Griffin) and a Tuesday, 1/4/65 ad for "Bailout at 43,000" (John Payne). There's also a Tuesday, 1/5/65 ad for "Pagan Love Song" (Esther Williams, Howard Keel), a Wednesday, 1/6/65 ad for "The Big Lift" (Montgomery Clift, Paul Douglas), a Thursday, 1/7/65 ad for "Mogambo" (Clark Gable, Ava Gardner) and a Monday, 1/18/65 ad for "Laura" (Gene Tierney). There are two more in the Channel 13 gallery, a Sunday, 12/27/64 ad for the ABC special, Winterland on Ice (Gordon and Sheila MacRae) and a Sunday, 1/17/65 ad for For the Record "What is Medicare?" The last three ads are in the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Sunday, 12/27/64 ad for the new Cinema 1 and 2 Theaters on Secor Rd. in Toledo, a Tuesday, 1/12/65 ad for White Hut Family Drive-Ins and a Sunday, 1/17/65 ad for Lucas County State Bank. More vintage ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...