April 29, 2011: Mac McCullough

There are 20 more ads today, all from October 1965 and all but four of them are for movies. There are nine in thethe Channel 11 gallery for movies on Night Owl Theater, Hollywood Spectacular, The One O'Clcok Movie, The Big Show, Monday Night at the Movies, The CBS Thursday Night Movies and NBC Saturday Night at the Movies. There's a Friday, 10/8/65 ad for "A Star is Born" (Judy Garland), a Tuesday, 10/12/65 ad for "The Mob" (Broderick Crawford), a Wednesday, 10/13/65 ad for "Titanic" (Clifton Webb) and a Thursday, 10/14/65 ad for "Houseboat" (Sophia Loren, Cary Grant) and "The Night Fighters" (Robert Mitchum). There's also a Friday, 10/15/65 ad for "The Caine Mutiny" (Van Johnson, Humphrey Bogart), a Saturday, 10/16/65 ad for "Boys Night Out" (James Garner, Kim Novak) and "Niagra" (Marilyn Monroe) and a Monday, 10/18/65 ad for "Separate Tables" (Burt Lancaster, Deborah Kerr). Finally, there's a Wednesday, 10/20/65 ad for "Fraulein" (Dana Wynter) and "Tarzan's Savage Fury" (Lex Barker) and a Friday, 10/22/65 ad for "The Last Hurrah" (Spencer Tracy). There are nine more in the Channel 13 gallery, including a Sunday, 10/10/65 ad for The Mike Douglas Show and a Tuesday, 10/12/65 ad for a Democratic Campaign Committee program (Ned Skeldon, Carol Pietrykowski). There are seven more ads for movies on Movietime 13, The Friday Night Movie and The Saturday Night Movie. There's a Wednesday, 10/13/65 ad for "Viking Women and the Sea Serpent," a Thursday, 10/14/65 ad for "Five Guns West" (Dorothy Malone, John Lund), a Friday, 10/15/65 ad for "The Girl Most Likely" (Jane Powell) and a Wednesday, 10/25/65 ad for "Sun Demon." There's also a Thursday, 10/21/65 ad for "Gun Battle at Monterey" (Sterling Hayden), a Friday, 10/22/65 ad for "Never Steal Anything Small" (James Cagney, Shirley Jones) and a Saturday, 10/23/65 ad for "Touch of Evil" (Orson Welles). There are two more ads for Deadline in the Channel 13 News gallery, a Sunday, 10/10/65 ad (Jim Rudes) and a Tuesday, 10/12/65 ad (Mac McCullough, who reported sports). More vintage ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...