March 20, 2011: The Floating Suburb

There are 18 new items today from July, August and September 1964, including one in the Random Pages gallery. It's a Sunday, 7/12/64 Charles Maher story in The Blade on the first Pay-TV test in California. There are ten in the Channel 11 gallery including a Sunday 7/12/64 ad for The Golf Bug, a special about golf in Toledo with Orris Tabner. There's also a Wednesday, 8/12/64 ad for Portrait of a Sculptor, a special about Toledo sculptor Le Maxie Glover and a Wednesday, 8/18/64 ad for The Floating Suburb, a special about area boaters. There are seven more ads for movies on The Big Show, Night Owl Theater, Friday Night at the Movies, Hollywood Spectacular and The Sunday Show, including a Thursday, 7/2/64 ad for "The Bottom of the Bottle" (Van Johnson) and "X..The Unknown" (Dean Jagger). Next is a Saturday, 7/4/64 ad for "Calamity Jane" (Doris Day) and a Friday, 7/10/64 ad for "The Burning Hills" (Tab Hunter, Natalie Wood) and "On the Riviera" (Danny Kaye). There's also a Saturday, 7/11/64 ad for "All the Brothers Were Valiant" (Robert Taylor, Stewart Granger) and a Sunday, 7/12/64 ad for "Combat Squad" (John Ireland). The next one is a Friday, 9/11/94 ad for "Stopover Tokyo" (Edmund O'Brien, Robert Wagner) and "The Razor's Edge" (Gene Tierney, Tyrone Power) and the last one is a Saturday, 9/12/64 ad for The Miss America Pageant on CBS (Bert Parks) and "Small Town Girl" (Jane Powell). There's one in the Channel 13 gallery, a Saturday 9/12/64 ad for Run for Daylight, a special about the Green Bay Packers and Paul Hornung. There are four more ads in the Other Vintage ads gallery. One is a 7/23/64 ad for Sylvania Savings Bank and the other three are Tuesday, 7/7/64 ads for the first Lucas County Great Lakes Festival at the Rec Center. There's one for The Andersons, one for Buckeye Beer and a full-page Recreation Center ad (Say "Howdy Neighbor"). Today's last two ads are in the Radio Station Ads gallery. There's a Friday, 7/17/64 ad for Music Hall Cavalcade on WJR and a Tuesday, 8/4/64 ad for WOHO's Terry Shaw, John Garry, J.J. Shannon, Lee Fowler, Bob Martz, Chase Clements and Bill Hughes at the Lucas County Fair. The ad ran from the top of the page to the bottom. More vintage ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...