March 18, 2011: Fall of Berlin

 

All of today's twenty ads are from June and July 1964. 17 of them are in the Channel 11 gallery. There's a Monday, 6/8/64 ad for Battleline "Fall of Berlin" and a Wednesday, 6/17/64 ad for the Toledo Arts Commission special, A Cello Concert with Yuan Tung. The rest are for movies on The Big Show, Night Owl Theater, Friday Night at the Movies, Hollywood Spectacular and The Sunday Show. First is a Monday 6/1/64 ad for "Under Fire" followed by a Wednesday, 6/3/64 ad for "Under My Skin" (John Garfield, Micheline Prelle). Next is a Thursday, 6/4/64 ad for "Force of Arms" (William Holden), a Sunday, 6/7/64 ad for "China" (Loretta Young, Alan Ladd) and a Thursday, 6/11/94 ad for "Unconquered" (Gary Cooper). There's also a Friday, 6/12/64 ad for "Blood and Sand" (Tyrone Power), a Monday, 6/15/64 ad for "Cause for Alarm" (Loretta Young) and "Tarzan and the She-Devil" (Lex Barker) and a Wednesday, 6/17/64 ad for "The Black Scorpion" (Richard Denning). Next is a Friday, 6/19/64 ad for "Band of Angels" (Clark Gable), a Sunday, 6/21/64 ad for "Neptune's Daughter" (Red Skelton), a Thursday, 6/25/64 ad for "It Came From Beneath the Sea" and a Saturday, 6/27/64 ad for "Toward the Unknown" (William Holden). And finally there's a Sunday, 6/28/64 ad for "Viva Zapata" (Marlon Brando), a Tuesday, 6/30/64 ad for "The Girl He Left Behind" (Tab Hunter, Matalie Wood) and a Wednesday, 7/1/64 ad for "Halls of Montezuma" (Richard Widmark). There's one in the the News/Special Reports Ads gallery, a Sunday 6/7/64 ad for the channel 13 special, Cancer and Women. There's also one ad in the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Monday, 6/1/64 ad for Bowling Green station WAWR-FM 95.3 which began broadcasting two days later. The last ad today is in the Other Vintage ads gallery. It's a 7/1/64 ad for Carling Black Label Beer featuring the cushion-grip tab opening can. More vintage ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...