March 12, 2011: News Behind the News

There are 20 more ads today, all from March 1964. There are seven more ads for movies on Night Owl Theater, The Big Show and Friday Night at the Movies, in the Channel 11 gallery. The first one is a Monday, 3/16/64 ad for "There's No Business Like Show Business" (Marilyn Monroe) and "On the Threshold of Space" (Guy Madison), followed by a Thursday, 3/19/64 ad for "Kiss the Blood Off My Hands" (Burt Lancaster, Joan Fontaine) and "Have Rocket, Will Travel" (Moe Howard). Next is a Friday, 3/20/64 ad for "The Caine Mutiny" (Humphrey Bogart) and "Miss Sadie Thompson" and a Monday, 3/23/64 ad for "Rogue Cop" (Robert Taylor) and "The D.I." (Jack Webb). There's also a Tuesday, 3/24/64 ad for "Kiss Them for Me" (Jayne Mansfield, Cary Grant) and "The Desert Rats" (Richard Burton), a Wednesday, 3/25/64 ad for "The Web" (Vincent Price) and "3:10 to Yuma" (Glenn Ford) and a Thursday, 3/26/64 ad for "Damn Yankees" (Tab Hunter) and "Tarzan and the Amazons." The Channel 13 gallery has ten more ads for movies on Masterpiece Theater and Movie Time, which aired at 4:25, following The Match Game on NBC. NBC had a 5 minute newscast scheduled at 4:25, but ch. 13 did not carry it. The first one is a Monday, 3/16/64 ad for "Goliath Against the Giants" followed by a Tuesday, 3/17/64 ad for "Suicide Batallion." There's a Wednesday, 3/18/64 ad for "Ulysses Against the Son of Hercules," a Thursday, 3/19/64 ad for "Gorgo" and a Saturday, 3/21/64 ad for "Last of the Vikings." Next is a Monday, 3/23/64 ad for "Venus Meets the Son of Hercules," a Tuesday, 3/24/64 ad for Paratroop Command" and a Wednesday, 3/25/64 ad for "Samson." There's also a Thursday, 3/25/64 ad for "Valley of the Lions" and a Tuesday, 3/30/64 ad for "Beast of Babylon Against the Son of Hercules." There's also one in the Channel 13 News gallery. It's a Wednesday, 3/11/64 ad for News Behind the News (Jim Uebelhart), sponsored by Springbrook Farms. There's one ad in the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Monday, 3/23/64 ad for Music Hall Cavalcade on WJR-AM 760 (Dale McCarren, Jimmy Launce, Tim Johnson, Ursula Walker, Jimmy Clark and the WJR Orchestra) and there's also one in the Other Vintage ads gallery. It's a 3/24/64 Kaiser Jeep ad for the new Wagoneer. More vintage ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...