February 22, 2011: Quick...Tough...Big

 

All of today's twenty ads are from April, May and June 1963, including eleven in the Channel 11 gallery. The first is a Wednesday 4/24/63 ad for Series One "The Glamorous American," a look at American fashion with Lamont McLoughlin. Next is a Thursday, 4/25/63 ad for The Teen-Ager: Another View, a special about Toledo area youngsters. There's a Friday, 5/17/63 ad for "Soldier of Fortune" on Night Owl Theater (Clark Gable, Susan Hayward) and a Saturday, 5/18/63 ad for "All About Eve" on Hollywood Spectacular (Bette Davis). Next is a Monday, 5/20/63 ad for "Monsieur Beaucaire" on Bob Hope Theatre. Apparently channel 11 edited old Bob Hope movies to fit an hour long time slot. Next is a Friday, 5/24/63 ad for "Sayonara" on Night Owl Theater (Marlon Brando) and a Saturday, 5/25/63 ad for "A Face in the Crowd" on Hollywood Spectacular (Andy Griffith, Lee Remick). There's a Sunday, 5/26/63 ad for "Little Miss Broadway" (Shirley Temple) and three more ads for movies on The Big Show and Night Owl Theater. The first one is a Monday, 5/27/63 ad for "The Frogmen," Alfred Hitchcock's "Foreign Correspondent" (Joel McCrea, George Sanders) and "Toward the Unknown" (William Holden). There's a Wednesday, 5/29/63 ad for "Tarzan and the Green Goddess," "Sea Wife" (Joan Collins, Richard Burton) and "To Please a Lady" (Clark Gable) and a Monday, 6/3/63 ad for "Neptune's Daughter," "Ministry of Fear" (Ray Milland) and "Sands of Iwo Jima" (John Wayne). There's one more in the News/Special Reports Ads gallery. It's a Monday, 5/13/63 ad for CBS News Extra "A Day and a Half in Space." Douglas Edwards anchored coverage of the last Mercury mission which had Major Gordon Cooper orbiting the earth 22 times. There are seven ads in the Channel 13 gallery. The first one is a Friday, 5/17/63 ad for Lawman (John Russell) and Saturday movie "Island in the Sky" (John Wayne). Next is a Monday, 5/20/63 ad for a Detroit Tigers game in Baltimore and Jim Rudes and the News and a Thursday, 5/23/63 ad for The Silent Service and Dick Powell's Zane Grey Theater. There's a Friday, 5/24/63 ad for "Angels in the Outfield" (Paul Douglas, Janet Leigh) and a Saturday, 5/25/63 ad for "The High and the Mighty" on Weekend Spectacular (John Wayne, Robert Stack). There's a Sunday, 5/26/63 ad for "The Big Caper" on ABC (Rory Calhoun) and a Monday, 5/27/63 ad for the three Warner Bros. westerns they showed at 5:00, Sugarfoot (Will Hutchins), Bronco (Ty Hartdin) and Cheyenne (Clint Walker). There's one more in the Channel 13 News gallery. It's a Tuesday, 5/21/63 ad for Jim Rudes and the News, The Local Scene and Weather-in-the-Weather with Frank Venner and Dave Drury editorials. More vintage ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...