December 19, 2011: Mammoth Christmas Cheese

I added 25 more holiday ads today from 1949-1954 issues of The Toledo Blade. Included are two ads for the NFL championship game, back when it was played around Christmas, one from sponsor Admiral and one from sponsor Miller High Life. The first one is in the ABC gallery, a Sunday, 12/24/50 ad for the Christmas Eve game in which The Cleveland Browns beat the Los Angeles Rams 30-28. The second one is in the Channel 13 gallery, a Sunday, 12/23/51 ad for a game carried on TV by the Dumont network. Same teams, but the Rams beat the Browns by a score of 24-17. The game was also carried on WTOD-AM 1560 and WTRT-FM 99.9. There are seven more channel 13 ads (back when 13 was Toledo's only TV station) including a Monday, 12/25/50 ad for Walt Disney's Christmas Party with guest star Edgar Bergan and a Sunday 12/23/51 ad for The Spirit of Christmas. There are two more for The Walt Disney Christmas Show, a Monday, 12/24/51 ad and a Tuesday, 12/25/51 ad. Next is a Thursday, 12/25/52 ad for the TV premiere of Mutual of Omaha Calling, followed by a Thursday, 12/24/53 ad for a special Christmas show of Sealtest Big Top TV Circus on CBS, and a Thursday, 12/31/53 ad for the New Year's Day Cotton Bowl on NBC. Rice beat Alabama by a score of 28-6. There are three ads in the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Tuesday, 12/27/49 ad for Edison Music Hour with Art Barrie on WSPD-AM 1370, a Monday, 12/24/51 ad with Christmas greetings from the Page Dairy Co., sponsor of Front Page News, also on WSPD, and a Tuesday, 12/25/51 ad for Mutual of Omaha Calling Tokyo on CKLW-AM 800. The remaining thirteen ads are all in the Other Vintage ads gallery including four holiday ads for Tiedtke's. There's a Tuesday, 12/20/49 "Yule Train" ad, a Sunday, 12/24/50 ad, a Wednesday, 12/24/52 ad and a Tuesday, 12/21/54 ad featuring their mammoth 3600-lb. cheese, at .69 / lb. There are two Sunday, 12/25/49 ads, the first one with Christmas greetings from the Ohio Citizens Trust Co. and the second one for the Krantz Brewing Corporation, brewers of Old Dutch Beer. Next is Saturday, 12/23/50 ad for the Ohio Bell Telephone Company, featuring a telephone Christmas tree. There are two more Sunday, 12/24/50 ads, the first one for the S.S. Kresge Co. and the second one for Lucas County Bank. Next is a Sunday, 12/23/51 ad for Sohio, a Tuesday, 12/25/51 ad for Buckeye Beer, a Tuesday, 12/23/62 ad for the Lion Store, and a Tuesday, 12/21/54 ad for the Stroh Brewery Company. More 1950s holiday ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...