January 25, 2011: Sex in the Mails

There are 20 more ads today, one from 1949 and the rest from the '60s. The oldest one is in the Other Vintage ads gallery. It's a 6/24/49 ad for The Duke of Paducah appearance at Buck Lake Ranch, near Angola, Indiana. There are six in the Channel 11 gallery including a Saturday, 1/9/65 ad for a Northwestern vs. Indiana Big Ten Basketball game with play by play by Bill Flemming. There are two ads for movies, a Tuesday, 1/12/65 ad for the next day's afternoon movie, "Don't Bother to Knock" (Marilyn Monroe) and a Wednesday, 1/13/65 ad for "The Hitler Gang" on the next day's Big Show and there's a Tuesday, 2/2/65 ad for The Honeymooners (Jackie Gleason, Art Carney, Audrey Meadows) and a Wednesday 10/30/68 ad for The Julie London Show. There are four more in the Channel 11 News gallery, a 2/2/65 People's Savings ad which congratulated Joe Gillis and WTOL-TV, a 2/29/67 ad for The Huntley-Brinkley Report (David Brinkley), a Tuesday, 10/29/68 ad for Campaign '68 "The Issues" and a Thursday, 11/7/68 ad for Paul Harvey Comments. There are five in the Channel 13 gallery including two ads for the 3-1/2 hour Group W special, One Nation Indivisible, a Monday, 5/20/68 ad (and Toledo Blade story) and a follow-up ad from Monday, 5/27/68. There's a Tuesday, 10/29/68 ad for the movie "Rome Adventure" and a Thursday, 11/7/68 ad for two ABC shows, Journey to the Unknown and The Joey Bishop Show. There's also a Saturday, 11/9/68 ad for The Hollywood Palace (Mike Douglas) on ABC and the late night movie "Girl on the Run" and there's one in the Channel 13 News Gallery, a 5/30/68 ad concerning WSPD-TV editorials (David Drury Stinks) and there's one in the News / Special Reports Ads gallery, a Friday 5/24/68 ad for a Jim Rudes Deadline report on "Sex in the Mails." There are two Channel 30 ads in the NET gallery, a Thursday, 1/28/65 ad for A Sleep of Prisoners (Barry Morse, Paul Stevens, Ramon Bierei, Jon Vought) and a Monday 2/1/68 ad for Brazil: The Gathering Millions. Today's last ad is in the Radio Station Ads gallery. It's a Saturday, 11/9/68 ad for two football games, Ohio State vs. Wisconsin with Frank Gilhooley and Joe Taberner preceded by a Libbey vs. DeVilbiss High School Game of the Week with Garry Miller and Chuck Buckenmyer). More vintage ads from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...